Lush Yog Log Roulade Review

Good morning my lovelies and welcome to this blog post!

Today’s review is of a product that isn’t THAT appropriate for this season. It was a Christmas exclusive product last year, but I’ve only just finished up my piece and really want to review it while it is still fresh in my mind! Sorry for the randomness!

Remember, I always review Lush products AFTER having used up the entire product, so that I have a well informed opinion before I write a review!

I hope you enjoy 🙂


 

Yog Log Roulade:

Rating: 4/5*

Cons:

This stuff runs out so fast, and is really expensive. I bought a piece of Yog Log Roulade that was big enough to cut into 8 slices, and it cost me around £13 – in the half price Boxing Day sale! So, 8 pretty thin slices of this stuff (size of slice shown in photo) would have normally cost me £26. Each slice lasted around 2 or 3 days as a hand soap in me and my partner’s bathroom sink. I just personally found this product to be a luxury, and not the sort of thing anyone would want to buy to use on a regular basis!

Yog Log Roulade was an exclusive product for the Christmas season in 2016, and is no longer available to buy. It may not even become available for the Christmas season this year, so it has very limited availability! If you do happen to get your hands on some of this product, and happen to fall in love with it, you’re going to have a tough time stocking up on the stuff!

I didnt like the colour of Yog Log Roulade. ‘Yog Nog’, the soap version of this roulade, had a creamy, orangey, mustard yellow colour to it, whereas Yog Log had a more biscuity, beige brown colour to it. It didn’t look that appealing to me personally!

I didn’t like the scent of Yog Log as much as that of Yog Nog either. It had a sort of creamy, biscuity scent, mixed in with the scent of play dough. If you want to purchase Yog Log because you love the scent of Yog Nog then don’t – they do not smell the same!

This is a pretty messy soap product, because of how soft and buttery it is. Pieces of the product would cling to sides of my sink as I’d wash my hands, which was pretty annoying.

The texture of Yog Log might not be something that everyone likes. It has a slightly grainy, creamy, buttery texture. I quite enjoyed the texture but I do know some people who hate anything that they consider to feel “slimy”, which they may find this product to be!

This is, supposedly, an incredibly moisturising soap. I however did not find this to be the case. I didn’t find this soap to be incredibly drying, but I definitely didn’t find it to be moisturising.


Pros:

The scent of Yog Log Roulade is sweet, biscuity and creamy. It is quite a nice scent!

The whole experience of using Yog Log feels like a luxurious treat, which is always nice! It has a sweet and creamy scent, a buttery texture – it is a very decadent product, and with a price to match! This is a really nice soap to use as a treat 🙂

I think the overall appearance of the product and how it is put together is really fun. It reminds me of a delicious Swiss Roll cake! Lovely!

I like the colour of wax that is used on the outside of Yog Log. It is a nice, bright, sunny yellow colour!

This is certainly a unique soap. I have never used a soap like this in my life, and it was definitely a fun novelty!


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, I’m not really sure what I think of this product. While using it I was sure that it was a product I really enjoyed, but looking back, I’m not sure if it was really quite as good as I thought it was!

I think bottom line, this is a luxury product. It makes a terrible everyday sort of soap, because it just doesn’t last long as all and is a bit messy – and is also REALLY expensive! If used as a luxury product though – like how I used my Yog Log up in just a few weeks, then this soap provides a really lovely experience for the user.

Overall, I’m going to rate this product a 4/5* rating. It did its job well, and was a lovely and luxurious product to use, but it just wasn’t quite enough to get a 5 star rating from me!

– Storm

One thought on “Lush Yog Log Roulade Review

Leave a Reply

