Is Obtaining A Degree Ever Worth It Financially?

So, I’ve been thinking a lot recently about the costs of obtaining a degree. Unfortunately for us in the UK, the average debt for students graduating today is £50,800. That is an awful lot of money! In that time, the individual could have instead worked full time – both gaining valuable work experience and, of course, money. Obtaining money rather than loaning (and in effect, losing) money is always a good thing!

A student can work alongside their degree however, and loan repayments are wiped 30 years after having obtained said degree. The loan repayments are also a relatively low sum per month, and only need to be begun to be repaid once the individual hits an income of £21,000 +.

With interest applied to the loan amount however, loan repayments can ultimately add up to be a rather large sum altogether.

So, I’ve been wondering. Is obtaining a degree ever worth it financially?

There are many other ways a degree may or may not be “worth it,” but I’m just thinking about the financial aspects of one for now.

I imagine myself, one day in the future when I am repaying back my student loan monthly, and am in a job that required me to have the degree which I had obtained. Now, what if I compare that future me to another person the same age as me, without a degree but with more years of work experience, and by now already in a very stable, well paying job.

I’ve always heard that degrees should be thought of as an investment, but is this really true? Does one always end up better off financially in the long run after having obtaining a degree?

Programmers, for example, do not require that individuals have obtained a degree. Employers will rarely fixate on an applicant’s education history at all in this field, and are much more interested in their actual practical ability in the field at the given time, and will more often hire someone based on their demonstration of said ability. Programmers can make a very decent salary, rising quickly. Programming is also a relatively easy skill to self-teach, and doesn’t really require tuition at all.

My partner has no official prior education in programming whatsoever, and simply self-taught himself as a teenager and young adult for fun. We are both 23 years old, and he is now in a very well paying programming job, whereas I am still struggling through obtaining a degree – with no official work experience to speak of to date! On top of that, I have also already incurred a student debt of over £20k.

So, financially, will my degree ever be worth it? I’m just talking about Bachelor degrees here. Surely it would have been more worth asking my partner to teach me programming instead, right? Honestly, I don’t even know anymore. If I’m honest, I don’t think they are. Some of the highest earners in the UK are Brokers for example, which is a job that doesn’t often require any formal qualifications – only usually a year of work in the relevant field – such as sales.

I suppose money isn’t everything, right? It has made me wonder though. I still have 3 years of my degree, and have begun thinking that perhaps the debt is just not even worth the effort! Especially now that so many people are obtaining degrees – I feel they are almost becoming obsolete over actual real life experience in the industry… I think my answer for this one, in all honesty, will have to be a no! I absolutely do not think a degree is worth it financially. Not in the UK at least!

I certainly don’t think money is everything, but I do know that financially I am currently quite unhappy, so perhaps sometimes money does bring you more happiness. Maybe it is time for a change in direction for me. I think I may start thinking of work and other parts of my life as the center, and my education as a side thing I’m working on, if that makes sense? I do still want to work on m degree, but I think it’s time for me earning a salary to take the center stage! I think I’d definitely feel happier financially that way 🙂 I think it would also be a good idea to get my partner to teach be a bit of programming over the course of my degree, so that once I’m finished, I could work in programming if I want to!

What are your thoughts? I’d love to hear them!

– Storm

2 thoughts on “Is Obtaining A Degree Ever Worth It Financially?

  1. The answer to your question depends entirely upon your chosen career. Medical profession? Better get a degree. Education? Unless you’re in a high-demand field, you’ll need a degree. Engineering? Library professional? Law? You’ll need a degree, and a Bachelor’s isn’t good enough. But in some fields, professional experience is worth far more than a degree. J.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is true! I was thinking more generally – most people could self-teach programming for example, which is a quickly growing field of work so there are many opportunities for employment too. So, if the majority of people can self-teach skills that will get them employed in well-paying fields of work, does that make degrees worth it financially in general?

      I suppose my perspective was that some people obtain a degree purely because they believe they will be financially better off by doing so, rather than thinking that paying for a degree is worth it to be educated in a subject they are interested in, or is worth it as it provides them with the opportunity to work in a field they are passionate about.

      Thank you for your comment!

      – Storm

      Like

Leave a Reply

