Lush Tropical Jungle Body Lotion Review

Tropical Jungle Body Lotion:

Rating: 5/5*

Cons:

This lotion was a Kitchen Exclusive back in April of last year. I think they may have released the lotion in the Lush Kitchen earlier this year too, but I’m unsure. Either way, if this is a product you are interested in or a product that you have somehow got your hands on and happen to fall in love with, you’re going to find it very difficult to stock up on! It isn’t available in stores all year, and isn’t even a seasonal product!

Some people will hate the scent of this lotion. Think pine trees, think musky salt, think bitter under-ripe bananas. It is a scent that does catch in the throat quite a bit if you inhale it a little too much. If the smell of the great outdoors – the woodsy, foresty, jungly smell isn’t your sort of thing, I’d steer WELL away from this lotion! It has quite a heady, humid sort note to it which really enhances and brings out outdoorsy scents within this lotion.

This lotion is RUNNY. It is EXTREMELY thin. I have spilled bits of this lotion on multiple occasions – nothing tragic, but nonetheless it is quite irritating!

This lotion being so thin means that often you will find you need to apply a lot more of the stuff to actually feel moisturised for a decent amount of time.

This lotion can feel slightly tacky on the skin for some time after application. This doesn’t bother me much at all, but I can see how it could bother a lot of people. It is definitely a lotion where I have to wash my hands after application!

The scent being sort of musky and salty in nature does remind me a tiny bit of perspiration. It doesn’t smell bad, but it does have this humid saltiness to it.

This lotion can go down pretty fast. It has lasted me a good amount of time – a little under a year and 3 months in fact, but that is because it isn’t a lotion that I use daily. Each application would use up quite a bit of product.

The first ingredient on the ingredients list for this product is water. That’s never a good sign when it comes to lotions! It is somewhat of a filler ingredient, which is a shame because this lotion was pretty expensive.


 

Pros:

Okay, so I actually sort of fell in love with this lotion. I’m really upset that I used it up to be honest. If this comes out in the kitchen and you happen to see it, and it isn’t sold out, buy it. You might not love it at first, but trust me, it will grow on you! This lotion is truly experience enhancing. It is just the perfect lotion to use whenever you’re going to be outdoors and in the sunshine!

The scent of this lotion is something very special. It really does smell like a mixture between a being in a pine tree forest and a being in a tropical jungle. And I say being in, because the scents truly feel like you are there, in that forest, in that tropical jungle. I know it sounds strange, but the scent of this jungle is very adventurous and outdoorsy, and makes me feel more adventurous and outdoorsy when I use it! It smells absolutely gorgeous, I love it! There’s a definite sweetness to it that smells to me like bananas. I don’t know, I can see a lot of people hating the scent of this lotion and I really wasn’t sure of it at first – which is why it is so important to actually use up an entire product before making a judgement on it!

I hate that this lotion is thin, but I love how the lotion feels once applied. It makes me feel fresh and truly moisturised, and over time, once the lotion has sunk in, my skin is left feeling velvetty smooth and plump. This body lotion is definitely one that works – it makes your skin feel moisturised and healthy!

The scent is strong. This is a scent that 100% will cling to your skin all day, as well as on any clothes that your lotioned-up skin comes into contact with.

My skin, without fail, looks 100% better after having applied this lotion to it. This lotion somehow makes my skin appear slightly darker, much more healthy, more even in tone and texture and provides a gorgeous sheen to my skin too. This lotion was an absolute must for days when I wanted to venture outside with my legs on show!


 

Overall Conclusion:

Overall, I loved this lotion, and I’m pretty darn sad that I have used it up! I’m really hoping that there is a mainline lotion that has a similar affect – a scent that makes you feel all adventurous! I loved loved loved this lotion! Some times I’m still slightly unsure about what I think of the scent, but most of the time all I have for this lotion is pure love. I’m so glad that I randomly decided to add this lotion to my order when I went online to buy some shampoo bars last year. It completely surpassed my expectations! I do wish that water wasn’t the main ingredient for this lotion, but it isn’t a big problem for me. The effects of the lotion are more important, right?

Overall, I’m going to rate this a 5/5* rating, without a doubt! I’m not even a person that uses lotion religiously but wow, this lotion… I truly do hope Lush has some more amazing ones in its mainline!
– Storm

Leave a Reply

