One Thing I HATE About Hot Days Is…

… I always feel panicked to make the most of them! I don’t know if anyone else gets this – most people I know find 32 degree Celsius days in England to be horrid, and just want to stay indoors and wish the hot weather and sunshine away. They get headaches, nausea, sweaty, dizziness and just generally don’t fare too well in the heat.

Me?

I live for these days. I’m constantly waiting for the temperature to hit 22 degrees or more where I live – which only occurs for a total of less than 7 days a year here I’m sure! Winter is an absolute nightmare for me. I HATE the cold with a passion. You hear so many people say in Winter that they can’t wait for the weather to be warm again, but those same people are usually the ones screaming “IT’S TOO HOT!!!” on days like these. Not me. To me, this is bliss. I’m not saying the hotter it is, the better – but I do really enjoy it being very warm.

So I find myself today, on the hottest day that I will feel all year – and probably the hottest day I will feel until another year has passed, and I don’t know what to do with myself. I’ve made no plans, I’m just sitting here! I don’t even know what it is that I want to do in this heat. Honestly, I think it is just it being warm that makes me happy – not what I’m doing when it is warm. I just hate the feeling that it is only going to be a pleasant temperature for me for a limited amount of time, before it’s back being too cold for me again. I wish I lived somewhere warmer than here – like in Queensland Australia or something! Knowing the weather is pretty much always going to be nice would be absolute freedom for me!

I find hot temperature to be freeing – when it is cold, I find myself trapped indoors because of how uncomfortable it is to be outdoors. I wasn’t always so hateful toward cold weather. When I was a teenager, I’d go out in the snow wearing a skirt and converse, as though it wasn’t a big deal at all. One Winter whilst living in Bulgaria, I caught hypothermia. My extremities became extremely painful and well, I think since then I’ve become more sensitive to the cold. Sometimes I feel like I feel the cold twice as strong, and feel warm temperature only half as strongly as most people I know feel it. I’m sure this isn’t fully true, but hypothermia can cause people to become more sensitive to the cold afterwards, so I don’t think it is entirely untrue of a statement either.

Anyways! For now, I think I’ll just enjoy the ability to have my back doors (that lead to my bedroom) wide open, whilst sitting in bed on my laptop and enjoying the heat 🙂 I’ll keep looking forward to a future where I live somewhere warmer, where I never feel rushed to enjoy the sunshine and heat before it disappears!

– Storm

Leave a Reply

