Lush Golden Egg Bath Bomb Melt Review

Golden Egg Bath Bomb Melt:

Rating: 3/5*

Cons:

This bath bomb was super moisturising. As in, it was a little bit TOO moisturising. There was so much melted cocoa butter in the bath that the bath water was super greasy. The melted cocoa butter would mix with any dirt and dry skin on my body, and create this soapy residue, that clung to my skin and the sides of the bath tub. If this sounds a little nasty to you, perhaps you should give this bath product a miss!

This bath product is SUPER GLITTERY! You WILL get gold lustre all over your hands and anything that your hands touch once you have held Golden Egg. My phone case is still absolutely covered in golden lustre after using the Golden Egg last night! Don’t try Golden Egg if this sounds like a bit of a nuisance to you.

The show for Golden Egg wasn’t extremely impressive. The bath product fizzed away very slowly and softly, releasing golden lustre, yellow colorant, creamy foam and cocoa butter into the bath water. This is a relaxing bath bomb. If you are looking to be completely blown away, I’d give a different bath product a try!

This is an exclusive product for Lush’s Easter range! If you happen to love it, you’re going to have a difficult time stocking up on this bath product during other times of the year!

Golden Egg’s scent is really, really sickly! It is a vanilla, sweet, burnt toffee, creamy, perfumey sort of a scent. If you don’t like perfumey toffee scents, steer clear my friend!

The ultimate bath water that Golden Egg left my bath water was a yellow colour, with a slightly green tinge to it. I know a lot of people who do not like bath products that turn their bath water yellow – you’ve been warned!


Pros:

I received Golden Egg as a gift – and it made such a lovely gift 🙂 It is such a popular bath bomb – it feels amazing to be able to use one of the most popular Lush products of all time!

I think the lustre on Golden Egg is gorgeous. I even like that my phone case is now covered in the stuff. I always take a shower after I have a bath to rinse off any excess product, and even after doing so VERY thoroughly, I still found a subtle lustre on my skin 🙂 It made me feel like a sparkly Goddess!

I really like the scent of Golden Egg. It is very sickly, but I can’t resist it! I’m a sucker for caramel, syrupy, toffee, fudgy sorts of scents. If you are too then you are going to absolutely LOVE the smell of this bath product!

I remember sitting in the bath tub, and thinking about how awesome the bath water looked. I don’t know if anyone else had one of these as a kid, but the water looked like the glittery water sometimes found within a water snake. I’ll attach a picture to one below… Anyways, it looked awesome!

I felt so clean and moisturised after my bath with Golden Egg. The cocoa butter softened up my skin so much, that any even slightly dry skin was completely washed off when it came to washing my body. The cocoa butter also made my skin feel super lovely and moisturised once out of the bath. If you want your skin to feel super fresh, soft, healthy and moisturised, using Golden Egg is a really great way to achieve that feeling!

Golden Egg is so cute! It is an egg covered in golden lustre for God’s sake. How bloody adorable is that?!


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, I’m not entirely sure of what I actually think of the Golden Egg. It is extremely popular, and was a gift to me, so I definitely FEEL as though I’m supposed to absolutely love it. It was just so, so oily… I found myself scraping the buttery residue off of my skin almost constantly while I was in the bath, and what I would scrape off was REALLY nasty. The butter would just completely remove all old, dry skin from my body, as well as any dirt whatsoever, so the scraped off residue was just… Really gross.

That residue would then go on to cling to the sides of my bath. I almost always wash my hair, then my hands, then face and then body in the bath water, and then shower afterwards just to rinse off any leftover product. I couldn’t do that in the water that Golden Egg produced. I was fine to initially wet my face/hair with the water, but wouldn’t want to use to bath water to then rinse out any shampoo etc too – I had to do this using the shower head.  The residue along the sides of the bath was so nasty, that there was only one unaffected spot along the side of the bath tub which I could lean on!

I also wasn’t keen on the overall show of Golden Egg – although I wouldn’t actually say it was bad. It just wasn’t really anything that amazed me. I wan’t that happy with the colour that it left my bath water, and the scent was also a little bit too much for me I think

There were a lot of things I loved about Golden Egg though. I was cool with the lustre – it wasn’t problematic for me whatsoever, and I actually really enjoyed its inclusion in Golden Egg a lot. It gave the bath water a really lovely appearance overall. The toffee-ness of the scent was also absolutely lovely. One of the most important things, is how the bath product actually made me physically feel – and it did absolute wonders for my skin. Honestly, I don’t think my skin has ever felt so amazing after having taken a bath! Plus, this was such a cute product in general!

I’m finding it difficult to rate this bath product. Overall, I’m going to rate it a 3/5* rating. It was definitely more of a positive experience than a negative one, but this bath bomb was just way too buttery for my liking!

If I could put up with the negative sides of such a buttery bath, then I’d absolutely adore this bath bomb. I just really couldn’t!

– Storm

Leave a Reply

