Lush Yellow Submarine Bath Bomb Review

Yellow Submarine Bath Bomb:

Rating: 3/5*

Cons:

This bath bomb leaves the bath water looking like many people peed in it. I’m not even kidding – it looks super yellow and kinda slightly frothy, but really not in a good way! If you HATE bathing in water that has this sort of a look to it, this is not a bath bomb you want to try!

The scent is quite sickly. To me it smelled like very sweet creamed coconut, or maybe coconut yoghurt. Either way, a super sweet coconut scent that definitely won’t be for everyone!

My Yellow Submarine tipped onto it’s side a little way into its show, and never turned back upright again. I like to let my bath bombs do their own thing, so I just left it that way. I expected him to float around upright for the entire show, so this was a little disappointing!

The colour the bath water turns is a real let down, because the show that the bath bomb provides is so colourful!

The scent of this bath bomb is very subtle – I could hardly smell it at all once I was in the tub, and couldn’t even really smell it very well while the bath bomb was fizzing away. If you like strongly scented bath bombs, this isn’t the one for you!

This was an exclusive product from Lush Oxford Street, and isn’t something that is readily available year-round. If you happen to get your hands on it, and happen to really like it, you’re going to find it difficult to stock up on!

This one was a really, really, really, REALLY slow fizzer. I honestly became a little antsy and fed up after around the 5 minute mark! I’m guessing the bath bomb took around 15 minutes to fizz away entirely. If you do not like slow fizzers, this one isn’t for you!

This bath bomb looks to me like it should smell of banana and marshmallow – like those banana candies and foamy candies in general that you eat as a child. It doesn’t smell like that at all though!


Pros:

This product is so cute! I mean, c’mon, it’s a bloomin’ yellow submarine!!! This product made me so nostalgic of times when I would watch The Yellow Submarine as a kid. The colours of the bath bomb and the show it provides perfectly represent the film. The Yellow Submarine bath bomb begins blowing out groovy bubbles toward the beginning of its show, and fizzes out beams of pink, yellow and pale yellow foam. The bath bomb slowly fizzes away around the bath tub, in a super chill fashion. I think this is the type of product that anyone who has seen The Yellow Submarine HAS to try at least once!

I really liked the colours of this bath bomb. They were super cute – a pale yellow submarine with a bright pink tail end.

The bath bomb really helped to soften my skin, and when it came to exfoliating (something I always do after washing my face and before shaving,) I was able to remove loads of dead skin! I know that’s pretty nasty, but my skin was soooo smooth and soft afterwards! If you want to have super smooth skin then exfoliate after bathing with this guy!

I received this as a gift from my partner, and it made a really fun gift! Perhaps this would be a good bath bomb to give to a Yellow Submarine fan as a gift πŸ™‚

This product is vegan and, of course, is a Lush product! Two very good things πŸ™‚


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, I loved the concept and appearance of this bath bomb SO MUCH! I also liked the softening effect that it had on my skin. The idea of the bath bomb was brilliant overall, but I wasn’t personally very keen on the scent of it. It was too sickly for me! The scent was also way too subtle for me – I love it when I can still smell the bath bomb in my hair the morning after having taken a bath. This bath bomb also fizzes away WAY too slowly, and the end result was kinda icky to be honest.

Overall, I’m going to rate this bath bomb a 3/5* rating. It was a really fun concept for a bath bomb, and I’m really glad it was one that I got to try! The cons were pretty big for me though to be honest.

– Storm

Leave a Reply

