Lush Snow Fairy Fun Review

This was a 2016 Christmas exclusive item! I hope you enjoy this review!


Snow Fairy Fun (200g):

Rating: 3/5*

Cons:

This was a Christmas Exclusive item from Lush for 2016. This means that it isn’t just readily available, and may not even return for Christmas at Lush this year. If you happen to get your hands on one of these Fun bars, and happen to LOVE it, you’re going to have a difficult time restocking on the stuff!

This stuff is kinda awkward to use. It doesn’t work badly as a shampoo, but it isn’t easy to use as a shampoo either. It doesn’t work badly as a body wash, but it isn’t the easiest thing to use as a body wash. It makes some nice bubbles in the bath, but isn’t the most easy product to break down to form bubbles. It is amazing how multiple purpose Snow Fairy Fun is, but it isn’t very easy to use for any one of those purposes! Basically, Snow Fairy Fun is a little bit difficult to use.

I left my Snow Fairy Fun on the side of my bath tub for the longest amount of time. Each time I’d grab a piece of product to use, a little more water would come into contact with the Fun bar. Over time, this caused the consistency of the Fun bar to become really sticky, moist and incredibly difficult to use fully. This is a product that becomes messy very quickly. You’ve been warned!

The scent of Snow Fairy Fun is identical to the smell of bubblegum. It is funny, because I have never related the scent of Snow Fairy shower gel or Snow Fairy body conditioner to having a bubblegum scent, but the Fun bar definitely does! A super sickly, sweet, traditional bubblegum scent. If you don’t like the sweet scent of bubblegum, this product isn’t the one for you!

Not only was this product not the easiest thing to use in the world, it also wasn’t the most effective. It was sort of an all-round meh product.

This Fun bar comes with some cute paper wings and a wand, so that you can use the Fun bar like modelling clay and make yourself a little Snow Fairy. If however, you do not create a model with your Fun bar right away and instead leave the paper pieces wrapped around the bar as you use it, over time the paper pieces will become quite mushy and sort of meld with the bar itself. Basically, the paper wings and wand becomes a part of the Fun bar itself. If this sounds kinda annoying to you then perhaps this isn’t the Fun bar for you!

I eventually potted my Fun into an old black pot from Lush. While in this pot, the Fun bar sometimes would separate, and there would be a layer of watery oil on top of very thick, very dry Snow Fairy Fun. This is because by the time I potted my Fun bar, it was already more of a very thick liquid rather than a solid. I can’t think of anything to compare the consistency to! Either way, it was very difficult to mix the Fun bar back up into a more usable consistency when this would happen.

If I hadn’t moved the Fun bar into a black pot, the product would have leaked out of its plastic wrapper and all over the side of my bath tub. It was quite a hassle to put my Fun bar into a black pot once the product had already become really sticky and moist!


Pros:

I mostly used Snow Fairy Fun to shave with. It worked just fine to do this with – not perfectly, but just fine. If you are on the hunt for a new shaving cream, maybe this Fun bar would work for you!

I bought this Fun bar during the Boxing Day sales, and only used it up Sunday 8th May. That’s 4-5 months worth of using this product – and I did use it quite frequently! This is a very long lasting product.

The concept, colours and scent of Snow Fairy Fun are really cute! I mean, it’s called Snow Fairy, smells like bubblegum, is pink, white and gold and comes with a set of wings and a wand so that you can build your own Snow Fairy. How cute is that?! This is the type of product that would be absolutely perfect as a gift for a little girly girl – or for any lady who has an inner little girly girl!

Again, this Fun bar is incredibly multi-purpose. You can use it to shampoo your hair, wash your entire body, provide yourself with a nice bubbly bubble bath to bathe, can be used to play with in the bath as a bit of entertainment AND, as I discovered, can be used to shave with! One product that is designed to do practically everything. Everyone needs one of these in their home!

Snow Fairy Fun being so multi-purpose also makes it the perfect product to travel with – at least when it is still a dry product! I brought a different Fun bar with me to Turkey in the, and it was absolutely amazing!

This is a vegan, natural, handmade product from Lush 🙂


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, I’m going to miss having a good ol’ Fun bar in the house. They are just so incredibly useful to have around! I haven’t quite got the nack of how best to store them yet though – I know that next time I’m definitely going to make a model before anything else, and then pot the product straight away. I just need to figure out how best to avoid introducing moisture into the product! Perhaps I could wrap most of the product up and put it away somewhere, and just have one segment in use at all times. I don’t know.

This specific Fun bar was quite nice – although the scent was definitely a bit too sweet for me. I also really wasn’t keen on the paper parts that came with this bar, and just found them to be a bit of a pain. I also don’t like that this is an exclusive product.

The concept of Snow Fairy Fun is brilliant though, and the product itself is a travelers best friend!

Overall, I’m going to rate Snow Fairy Fun a 3/5* rating. It was definitely mostly a good product – as I think all Fun bars are. I just wasn’t keen on the scent of it, and I wish they were a little easier to use and a bit more effective!

– Storm

Leave a Reply

