Lush Daddy-O Shampoo Review

Daddy-O Shampoo (100g):

Rating: 2/5*

Cons:

I found that I’d lose quite a bit of hair in the shower after using this shampoo… This is something I have found with a few of Lush’s shampoos (such as Cynthia Sylvia Stout,) so I know this wasn’t just a flukey thing! Maybe it is the SLS in the product, or perhaps it is just too drying on my hair. Either way, this was obviously definitely a con for me!

Daddy-O was difficult to lather up. I’d squirt a bit of shampoo into my hand and attempt to lather it into my hair, with little success. I’d have to repeat this process a few times before my hair felt like I had used enough shampoo to actually thoroughly clean it. I’d end up using probably around 4 squirts of shampoo on average to clean my hair properly – it would really depend on how many days I went without washing my hair! Anyway, this process could be quite time consuming and irritating!

I didn’t REALLY notice much of a change in the colour of my hair or anything. Maybe a slight change, but definitely not a massive one! (This shampoo is supposed to reduce brassy tones in blonde hair and make the hair appear brighter and lighter.)

I’d always need to both condition my hair AND apply R&B Hair Moisturiser after using Daddy-O, because it just wasn’t very nourishing!

The scent of Daddy-O is very sweet and quite a natural sort of scent – definitely not everyone’s cup of tea!


Pros:

This is a purple shampoo, some some people with very light hair may find that it helps to fend away those brassy tones!

This shampoo physically looks gorgeous! It is a gorgeous, deep, extremely pigmented purple colour, and has a metallic sheen to it.

I think the name of this shampoo is quite sweet!

This shampoo lasted me and my partner quite a long time. I received this shampoo on 1st February, and although I didn’t start using it right away, I did start using it not too long after receiving it. I used up the last bit of this shampoo on Sunday 8th May, which means it lasted both me and my partner around 3 months. Considering it was only a little 100g bottle of shampoo, I think this is pretty damn good!

This shampoo smells really good. It smells clean, fresh, and like Parma Violet sweets. It also has this very green undertone to it – almost a very pleasant woodsy, grassy scent. This undertone becomes much more prominent while using the shampoo in the shower, and I think is an aspect of the scent of this shower gel that is very special and unique! I LOVE the scent of Daddy-O shampoo!

This is one of Lush’s vegan shampoos, so you know you aren’t adding to the harm of any animals by using it 🙂

Although I didn’t notice much of a change in the colour of my hair or anything, I did notice that my hair did seem to be very SLIGHTLY lighter in general.

This being a Lush shampoo means it is pretty much all natural, and the ingredients are quite good for your hair!

Daddy-O definitely cleaned my hair very thoroughly!

After using Daddy-O, my hair would usually feel quite soft.

This shampoo really increased the volume of my hair! My hair always would feel rather thick compared to usual after having used this shampoo.


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, I wanted to love this shampoo – I really did! When it comes to a shampoo causing me to lose more hair than I usually would in the shower though, well, that’s a huge no-no. I’m not exactly what caused this – it isn’t something I found with most of the shampoos I have used from Lush, only a few of them. I think it could possibly be due to the shampoo not going very far once in the hair. This being the case has a knock on effect – it means I have to spend a lot of time to repeatedly add more product to my hair and trying to lather up. Perhaps this increased amount of time having SLS in contact with my roots caused some of my hair to fall out! Also, perhaps all the extra lathering I needed to do caused my hair to become a little tangled, and maybe some hair came out that way.

Overall, I’m afraid I’m going to give Daddy-O a rating of 2/5*. I’m giving it this rating because overall, using the product was a negative experience. Maybe continuously finding little locks of hair in the bath tub would be a good thing for some people who really want their hair thinned out, but I have extremely thin hair, so this was absolutely terrifying for me! I also don’t think it’s a very healthy thing to be happening in general… I would comb my hair very thoroughly with a fine toothed comb beforehand, so there would be no way that they were simply loose hairs/hairs that had already detached themselves from my head.

It is a real shame, because I really enjoyed so much about this shampoo! Ah well, until next time!

– Storm

Leave a Reply

