137 Days Of Summer…

It’s over.

My initial year to get onto an Astrophysics ended yesterday.

If I did well enough in my exams that I took earlier this week, my Astrophysics degree starts on 29th September, according to the University site. The 29th September is a Friday – so I can only imagine that this being the starting date of the course means that this is an induction day of some sort – or that the course ACTUALLY begins on the 2nd October, but they want to make sure all the students are at the University and are ready in time. I’m guessing the former.

That’s 137 days of Summer.

Counting today as the first day, and Thursday 28th September as the last day, I literally have 137 full days of Summer.

I haven’t arranged or scheduled to do anything this Summer – a job or a holiday booked. Not saying I won’t do those things. Maybe I will. Maybe I won’t.

Anyone who has ever been a student knows that it can be difficult to prioritise anything else in their lives while their course is running. I moved into my new flat last September, and haven’t even had the time to redecorate, or to go through our packing boxes and unpack our things. I haven’t even signed up with the local dentist or doctors yet!

Because of this, I wanted to leave my Summer open. For it to be a period of time where upon asking myself the question “Do I have the time to do X activity…?,” The answer will ALWAYS be YES, rather than the other way around! Finally, I have the time to invest in all the activities I have neglected over the past 8 months. That includes important things  like getting a job too! I intended to get myself  job in September last year, but haven’t been able to find the time to even write a damn CV!

Finally, I’m free.

Free to do whatever the hell I want.

I’ve never had a Summer this long in 5 years…

Booooooooooyah!

Leave a Reply

