Lush Golden Handshake Hot Hand Mask Review

Golden Handshake Hot Hand Mask:

Rating: 2/5*

Cons:

Messy: This hand mask is insanely messy. It is really waxy in texture once is starts to dry, and dripped all over my lovely dressing gown while I was using it! I’m hoping it will wash out in the washing machine, but I’m not certain whether it will. It is messy because you are supposed to put your hands in a bowl full of the melted mask and massage the mask into your hands for 15 minutes. You then have to go to a sink to rinse the mask off. I think that unless I had literally used the mask at the sink or whilst in the bath, I couldn’t have avoided making a mess! If this sounds like a hassle to you, then don’t get it!

Inconvenient: While this mask is on your hands, doing anything is pretty much impossible. It might sound like a doddle – it’s just 15 minutes, right? If you get an itch on any part of your body, you will instantly have gooey, waxy residue left behind in that spot. Lovely. If you need to answer the door, well, you’re screwed! What if your phone rings of if you urgently need to respond to a message? No can do! Pretty much anything and everything is impossible to do with this hand mask on. Even just using my hands to remove the bowl of hand mask from my lap when I went to rinse the mask off, was a hassle. Christ, even turning the tap on was a nightmare! Again, this product is SUPER MESSY!!!

Texture and Consistency: The fact that this mask dries sort of waxy is annoying. It is really difficult to remove from anything it gets onto, and if you want to save the mask in the fridge for a while, some waxy residue will be left behind on the bowl it is in too (also not the easiest or most pleasant to wash off!) Where do you rinse out a bowl of hot hand mask anyways? In the kitchen sink – doesn’t really seem appropriate. The bath seemed most appropriate to me, although now the mask has just helped clog up the bath’s drain, and has also left a gross, waxy, dangerous (slippery) hand mask residue behind on the bottom of the bath! THIS PRODUCT IS SUCH A PAIN!!!

Doesn’t Keep: Okay, so after using the mask, you will find there is this a huge amount of product left behind in the bowl you used. I wanted to save this in the fridge, so that I could re-use it at a later date. Some time passed (okay, maybe it was a few weeks but still!) and the bowl of hand mask literally had mould growing on it. It was really nasty. I didn’t re-use it sooner because, well, my first experience with using the stuff was so terrible. Still, this definitely doesn’t last as long as any other Lush product I have used before. If you want something you can re-use over a long period of time, this isn’t the one for you!

Scent: The smell to me wasn’t pleasant at all. It smelled pretty gross actually, almost like the smell of hair dye or something – perhaps with a slightly buttery, slight citrus scent to it. I’m not sure why this is, but it definitely didn’t smell great.

Time Consuming: This mask took ages to melt, and was a very boring process. You are supposed to stir it continuously, until the mask develops, thickens and becomes a “dreamy, creamy lotion.” For it to achieve this state, it took at LEAST 15 minutes (somewhere between 15 and 30 minutes.) I had the TV on so this wasn’t so horrid, but it was tedious. This was with using boiling water. At least it taking so long to develop gave the mask time to cool down! If you don’t have a lot of time on your hands, this isn’t a product for you!

Very Hot!: The only bowl I had that was an appropriate size to fit BOTH MY HANDS in comfortably was a metal bowl. Since I had to use boiling water in order for this mask to actually melt, this of course made the bowl itself very hot to the touch. It was quite difficult to move around – and I’d imagine it wouldn’t be much better if the bowl were made of glass! If you don’t want to risk burning yourself, don’t try this mask!

Drying: This mask didn’t even make my hands soft or moisturised. I’m not even kidding – I’m pretty sure my hands ended up DRIER than they were before I used the mask on them!!! I’m not even sure how this is the case – perhaps it is because of the mask being warm, although it is more likely because of the main ingredient of the mask being “Cetearyl Alcohol & Sodium Lauryl Sulfate,” an alcohol and SLS mixture (both known to be quite drying on the skin!) These are also the ingredients that make the product waxy in consistency. The drying effect was probably due to serveral of the ingredients combined together to be honest, as it isn’t just made of butters and oils (the mask also contains citric acid, perfume, sodium bicarbonate…) If you want something that is really going to do your hands some good, don’t try this hand mask!

Stressful: I didn’t really find this mask to even be relaxing – as a pamper session should be. To me, it was actually rather stressful, because it got everywhere and was a nuisance to clean up. I also didn’t anticipate the entire process taking quite so long, so I became rather stressed and antsy while using it! This definitely isn’t the most calming or relaxing of products that Lush do make!


Pros:

Only Hand Mask: This is the only hand mask that Lush do, so if you want to try a hand mask from Lush, give it a go!

Looks Cute: This hand mask does look insanely cute! It comes in a solid form, and is in the shape of a little hand, covered in golden lustre. It is attached to a wooden stick, and has a little piece of cardboard wrapped around it that has all the ingredients and instructions written on it. If you like cute looking products, maybe this is one for your collection!

Cozy: This hand mask did feel nice and comfortable on the skin whilst actually using it. It was really warm and comforting!

Provides Time to Yourself: If you want to find a way to slow down and to just have some time to yourself, then this is definitely a good product for that purpose. It takes a long time to use, and requires a lot of patience. Using this product will force you to have a good hour or so to yourself (once you include all the preparations and after cleanup!) Try this hand mask if you need some time to wind down!

Novel: This is quite a novel product – you could very well find the novelty of it to be fun!

A Lush Product!: Lush is a fantastic company, and honestly, I think every one of their products (that are vegan) are worth trying at least once! Some people really love this hand mask, so it is worth a try!


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, I honestly really didn’t enjoy this hand mask. It is a real shame, because it is currently the only hand mask that Lush do! I really hope they make some new ones, because this being the only hand mask they do means that regardless of my rating, it is still my favourite Lush hand mask!

I think this hand mask was a right pain to use. It was just extremely messy, inconvenient, time consuming – and didn’t even work!

I’m going to have to rate this product a 2/5* rating, and that is me being very generous. Honestly, the only reason why I’m giving it 2 stars is because it is a really adorable product! I could imagine that it would look really cute in a glass jar, as a piece of decoration in a bathroom, along with some reusable bubble bars and hair masks! Like a cute jar of lollipops or flowers 🙂 It was also really warm and cozy to use!

There is a lot of room for improvement from this product – it certainly shouldn’t be drying on the hands, and I think it would be better if it were like the face and foot masks that Lush do, and didn’t need to be melted. The scent could also definitely be improved upon!

– Storm

Leave a Reply

