Lush Layer Cake Soap Review

I’ve had this soap since January last year, and only just used it up! Here is my review of it. I hope you enjoy! 🙂


Layer Cake Soap (100g):

Rating: 3/5*

Cons:

This soap never really lathered up very well. Like, never. The lather was always extremely mild – only just enough to wash the hands with. If you like a strong lather then steer clear from Layer Cake!

The scent of this soap is a little plain. It smells generally soapy, with a fruity scent mixed in to it. My piece consisted of a blueberry and a raspberry portion of soap, and it smelled… Well, generally fruity I guess!

This wasn’t the most moisturising of soaps – in fact, I found it to be somewhat drying to be honest. Not majorly, but definitely somewhat.

The colour of the soap seems to just disappear with the more you use it. With the last week or so of using the soap, the colour of it was an extremely mild, translucent blue-purple colour. It reminded me of when you suck on an ice lolly only to find that afterwards, the ice lolly is just an icy colour because you just consumed all the flavour and colourings from it!

The blueberry portion of the soap didn’t smell brilliant to me. It was okay, but it was quite a dry, powdery smell (if that makes any sense…) It reminded me of the smell of these blueberry flavoured vitamins I used to take as a kid. Not great!


Pros:

I think that in general, the colour of the soap is nice – especially originally. My piece was half raspberry pink and half a dark blue-purple colour. Dark magenta is my favourite colour, so anything pinky-purple wins my vote!

Although the lack of lather had my worrying, this soap did clean my hands very well.

Although the scent wasn’t necessarily anything special, I did really enjoy it. I love fruity scents, and the raspberry half of the soap smelt especially lovely. It smelled like delicious, sweet raspberry scented candy.

I think the idea of this soap is lovely. You never know what piece you’ll get if you get this soap in a gift set (like I did) or if you order online. I love how many differrent flavours the soap consists of, and the amount of combinations you could end up with! The original block of soap truly looks like one of those rocket ice lollies!

I received this as part of a gift, and it did make a really nice gift!

This soap suited the season really well – it smelled like summer berries, so it would be a great one to use in Spring and Summer (although honestly, berry scents go quite well in Winter and Autumn too!)


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, I think this soap was nice, but not anything incredible. It didn’t lather well, was a little drying on my hands and became a washed out colour by the end of its days. I also wasn’t super keen on the scent of the blueberry scented portion of my soap. I did like the raspberry scent though, and the soap worked really well and looked beautiful. It was also exciting to almost have 2 soaps in one!

I’m going to rate this soap a 3/5* rating (a rating that my partner also suggested!) Before writing the review, I suspected the soap would get a 4/5* rating. I suppose writing out all the pros and cons changed my mind a little! It was a really nice soap, it just wasn’t amazing!

– Storm

Leave a Reply

