Things I’m grateful for / not so grateful for having in my life.

I was just having a little think about my life earlier, when I thought about writing this post. I thought that really thinking about the things I want to chase after in my life vs the things I no longer need to chase for, would be really valuable to me.


The things I am most grateful for in my life:

In order of them popping into my head…

I am grateful for my partner, Richard. Without him, I don’t even know what position I would be in today. He has truly changed my life, and it is an absolute honor to be with such a lovely person. He has taken care of me in so many ways over the past 3-4 years. Richard means the absolute world to me!!!

My family all being alive and well. I am so grateful to still have my parents and all my siblings alive and healthy. I can’t imagine it not being this way, yet at the same time, I know they can’t actually live forever. I just want it to stay this way for absolutely ever.

I am grateful for Lush! Lush makes me so truly happy. It has been a fantastic company for my mental health, and genuinely can easily turn a sad day into a happy one for me. Thank you Lush!

I am grateful for having another chance at getting onto an Astrophysics degree. This is the fourth year I have spent studying at pre-degree level, but I really think I’m going to get onto my degree this year! Some of the teaching this year has been truly brilliant, and I have learnt so much.

I am grateful for our landlord! He has said that we can decorate the flat how we like, put up pictures wherever we want, and he pretty much just leaves us be! This flat is absolutely gorgeous, and in a really good location! I love this flat to death and am so grateful I get to live here with Richard!

I am grateful for all I have done for myself in the past, to get myself to where I am today. It has been tough work! I had to sort out a bank account, somewhere to live, income, my passport, my education etc etc etc all in an incredibly short amount of time. When I first came back to England, everything was incredibly difficult, and I really struggled through. 4 years later and things are so much easier! Still not perfect but pretty damn good.

I’m grateful for the gorgeous sun being out today! I love Summer – I love the heat, I love the sunshine, I love everything about Summer! I know it is still spring, but I am so glad we are headed toward warmer weather – rather than the other way round!

I’m grateful that I’m a British citizen. I know my life is easier and more comfortable than a lot of people’s for this reason alone. Life in England is relatively easy as it is, but it is even easier when you’re a citizen of the place.

I’m grateful for mine and my partner’s health. We’re not dying, have never been seriously injured or unwell… We are both incredibly lucky!

I’m grateful for vegan food! There are so many options for us vegans now, that there’s really no excuse at all if you’re an animal lover! It’s just so easy! There are tons of PURELY VEGAN restaurants scattered over the place (just search on Happy Cow to find them!) There are also tons of vegetarian and vegan friendly restaurants. What about if you want to eat at home? Even easier! I literally have 3 health food stores within a 15 minute walk away. In each, there is vegan ice cream, yoghurt, burgers, sausages, white chocolate, milk chocolate, fillets, fish fingers, chicken nuggets, jelly sweets, flapjacks, cake… And then there’s the supermarks – there’s also 3 miniature supermarkets within a 15 minute walk from my home! I literally cannot think of anything that I can’t get from a store within 15 minute walk away that is a vegan version of foods that contain animal products.


I would have listed more things, but I have so much to be grateful for, and I feel like it could all become a little too general if I kept going! (E.g. saying I’m grateful for life on the planet, for star trek, for colour existing…)


The things I’m not so grateful for in my life (things I’m trying to change!)

That I live so far away from my family members. I mean, they’re not exactly impossible to reach – they do all live on the same island as I do! It’s just that I can’t really just go and see them whenever I’d like to, which is a shame. To travel to them costs quite a bit of money – not tons, but again, too much to see them every week for example. Plus, they all live in different places, so I can’t even go and see them all in one go!

That I don’t have that much money! I really want a job, but have no work experience. Having no work experience whatsoever at the age of 23 makes an unappealing employee, which I think is why I haven’t managed to secure a job yet. I’ll keep trying though of course, I’d really like the extra money!

How low energy I feel almost all the time. I hardly get anything done – I’m just always so drained and exhausted. I feel like I need to sleep so often, and I hate it! I wish I just could have more energy to achieve all of the things I want to in my day.

The mess in our flat! This flat needs a massive clean-out and tidy, and I’m really dreading it! There’s so much to be done, it’s going to be really hard work and take such a long time!

Not having any friends! I have my partner, but other than that…? Okay, saying I have no friedns might be a little bit harsh to those people who may consider me to be one of their friends. At college, there are some people who I like to hang out with while I’m there. I don’t know if they really count as friends though? I guess what I mean to say is that I’m not grateful that I don’t have any CLOSE friends (besides Richard.)

HOW EXPENSIVE LUSH IS. Lush makes me so happy, but I can barely afford the stuff! Please Lush, lower them prices a little!

How many hours my partner works per week. I don’t see him all that much, which makes me miss him so much 😦 I wish he worked less hours!

I’m kinda not grateful for the fact that I didn’t get my life sorted out when I was younger I suppose. If I already had my degree, work experience and some more experience living independently, I’d already be able to be doing bigger things with my life – like possibly considering marriage, travel, moving abroad, having some pets, I’d probably have more hobbies and mates… I feel like I’m a 23 year old living a 19 year old’s life. I hate it! Maybe that might not seem that much of a difference, but a lot can happen in 4 years. If I was at this point when I was 19 years old, I’d have had my bachelor degree finished for around a year by now, I’d have some work experience, more experience travelling, and I might even be married! Being in education really complicated things, because it is a massive commitment that I can’t just leave until I finish.

Being born in England! I know this contradicts a little what I said earlier about being a British citizen, but what would be even better than being a British citizen? An Australian citizen! I so wish that I was born in Australia! I just know I’d have a more varied, exciting, happy life. Not that my life here is boring or dull or unhappy – I just KNOW it would be even BETTER in Australia! I feel it!

I am ungrateful for all the horrible things that happen in this world. Again, perhaps this is rather general rather than something specific to me… I hate wars, violence, theft, animals being used for food, clothing and god knows what else… I just hate it all. I wish the world was a nicer, more equal place for different forms of life on our planet.


The end! I hope you enjoyed! What are you grateful for? What are you trying to change in your life? Feel free to leave a comment below if you’d like to 🙂

– Storm

Leave a Reply

