Lush Atomic Tooth Powder Review

Hey guys!

I said in a post a while ago that I wouldn’t be trying and reviewing Lush’s tooth products. I lied. Nah, I really thought I wouldn’t, but I guess I changed my mind 🙂 Here is my review of Atomic – I hope y’all enjoy!


Atomic Tooth Powder:

Rating: 5/5*

Cons:

This tastes STRONGLY of cloves. If you HATE the scent or taste of cloves, keep away from this guy. You’ll be tasting cloves for a while after using this product!

This is a product that I believe works on bicarbonate of soda, and you can really taste it! If that bothers you then none of Lush’s tooth powders are going to sit well with you.

This product, as well as all of Lush’s tooth products, contains 0 fluoride. I don’t believe that brushing one’s teeth with fluoride is the ONLY way to maintain healthy teeth, and like to believe that Lush have come up with an alternative, natural way that works not just as well, but better. I have watched Youtube videos and have people I know in person who have said that after using this product and going to the dentist, the dentist has said that their teeth have improved since the last time they visited. However, for some people, this product not containing fluoride could be a con!

This product doesn’t just taste of clove and bicarbonate of soda, but it really does taste extremely strong in general. If you don’t want to be brushing your teeth with something that tastes extremely strong, back off yo.

To use this tooth powder, you have to dab a mildy wet toothbrush directly into the pot of powder, to coat the top of the bristles in a nice thin and even layer of the powder. Dipping directly into the pot will unavoidably eventually cause some formation of blobs of product. I’m having difficultly explaining this, but I’m sure you can imagine what I’m trying to say. Anyways, when this happens, those blobs of product are more difficult to apply to the toothbrush than straight up powder. For the last time I brushed my teeth with Atomic, the final bit of product was actually mixed with a tiny bit of water from all the times I had dabbed my toothbrush in there, so it was like trying to coat my toothbrush in a very thin cream. It wasn’t a great experience!

The foam produced by this toothpaste is a brown colour. If that sounds off-putting to you, perhaps try a different Tooth Powder instead!


Pros:

I really enjoyed the novelty of this product! It was far more fun to use than regular toothpaste and although I have heard people saying things along the line of “You’re an adult, you shouldn’t need teeth brushing to be fun…” I still personally like to have fun while brushing my teeth!

The fact that this product doesn’t contain fluoride makes me quite happy.

My entire mouth always looked and felt so incredibly clean after using Atomic!

I have quite a sensitive mouth and often experience bleeding gums, develop ulcers and experience pain in my gums when brushing my teeth. With Atomic, I didn’t experience any of that at all. I’m not big on the theory that if you have sensitive gums, you just need to keep torturing them until they become hard and resistant. Imagine if someone said that to people with sensitive facial skin… “Just scrub it real hard every day, go through the pain and the bleeding, until your face no longer bleeds from being scrubbed!” It just sounds ridiculous to me personally!

This product froths up so incredibly well – far better than the Toothy Tabs I have tried and far better than regular toothpaste too!

My father used to use clove oil on his teeth to help relieve toothaches. Cloves are known to do this by numbing the area somewhat, which I think is one of the main concepts of this tooth powder. It is advertised as being cleansing and soothing, gentle but powerful. I think this is also why I didn’t experience any pain or discomfort of any sort whilst brushing my teeth, which I’d often feel with normal toothpaste! I think this is absolutely brilliant 🙂

At first, I really wasn’t sure about the scent or taste of this product but by the end of my pot, I definitely began associating the scent and taste with having a lovely clean mouth!

The pot this product comes in counts toward your 5 black pots for a free face mask!


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, this tooth powder was fab. I’d love to try more tooth products from Lush! This cleaned my teeth so much better than regular toothpaste yet felt so much gentler and healthy. I really enjoyed it!

I’m going to rate this product a 5/5*. It not only worked extremely well but is also obviously a pretty natural product and most of all, I didn’t experience any pain or bleeding whilst using it! I really enjoyed the novelty of brushing my teeth with a product in a different format too. I really wasn’t keen at first, but I continued to use it until it was all gone – and now I truly miss it!

I hope you enjoyed my review.

– Storm

Leave a Reply

