Lush Ocean Salt Self-Preserving & Alcohol Free Face and Body Scrub Review

Whew… That was a mouthful!

I just used it up while taking my bath 🙂 I hope you enjoy!


Ocean Salt Self-Preserving & Alcohol Free Face and Body Scrub:

Rating: 4/5*

Cons:

This is a product that is only available online as far as I know. That is something that can be a bit of a pain sometimes!

I actually couldn’t get this scrub to work by itself at all. It just wouldn’t do anything for my face whatsoever in terms of exfoliation. I learnt to first exfoliate my face with an exfoliating glove (£1 in Poundland etc) and THEN to use the face scrub.

Even after already scrubbing my face, the product still doesn’t really have much additional scrubbing action. I don’t know why this is. I honestly don’t. All I know is that this product isn’t very scrubby, and I’d have to keep applying the scrub to my face for it to actually work how I wanted it to!

This scrub stings when it is on your face! If you get it in your eyes, I’m so sorry. If you have any slight injuries on your face, perhaps a healing spot or a cracked lip, again, I’m sorry.


Pros:

This scrub will leave your skin so, so, so smooth. Smoother than it has ever felt. This is only slightly due to the scrubbiness of the product, and is more due to all of the oils and butters that the product contains. My face doesn’t feel oily at all, it just feels smooth and plump and lovely.

I really like the smell, and even secretly kinda like the taste of this product. I mean, I wouldn’t eat spoonfuls of the stuff, but a tiny bit always gets in my mouth while I’m scrubbing my face. It just tastes like salt. I like salt. Anyways, it smells and tastes fresh and like the ocean, in a non gross way. It is like all the good parts of the sea being squished into a product. I love it!

This is vegan and is also alcohol free. Other versions of this product are not vegan, and other versions are not alcohol free. This version has all the good things going for it! I think the product smells better without the vodka to be honest, and it also seems to work better. Either way, anyone who has ethics against alcohol and/or against vegan can use this product!

This product is alright for sensitive skin – at least more so than the version that contains alcohol!

This version of Ocean Salt is REALLY nourishing and feels very healthy on the skin compared to the other versions. I think it is the lime oil being steeped in glycerine instead of vodka. We all know that glycerine is a humectant, and draws moisture to the skin. I also found that with the other version of this product (Ocean Salt Self-Preserving,) it left a sort of sticky, oily residue on my skin. This version does not. The product is incredibly light and just absorbs into the skin.

My skin hasn’t exactly been perfect recently, but it has been better than usual. I have had quite a few spots recently, but more randomly placed around my face rather than being almost rash-like. My cheeks have been entirely clear, and my blackheads have reduced immensely. Maybe that’s part due to this product?


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, I like this scrub quite a bit. I am surprised to say that I much prefer it to the non alcohol free version, considering that only one ingredient is different (vodka vs glycerine.) I do wish it was more scrubby though! And that it would hurt my skin a little less… I dunno, I guess the product could be quite a bit more effective, but it’s not bad.

I’m going to rate this product a 4/5* rating. It leaves my face real soft, what more could I want really?

– Storm

Out of the vegan facial scrubs available on the Lush UK website on 03/03/17, this is my favourite facial scrub!

Leave a Reply

