Lush Respect Your Elders Soap Review

Hey everyone! First and foremost, I want to briefly go over my method for writing my reviews, so that anyone reading them knows the basis in which my reviews were written. If you’d like to skip straight ahead to the review, just scroll down a little 🙂

Before anything else, my method of course consists of my obtaining a product from Lush. This could be as a gift from somebody, a sample or a full product.

The second step of my method is to try out the product in a “proper” way. This basically just using the product in a way so that I am not wasting any, and in a way that it will actually work to the best of its ability. While doing this, I will be thinking about the product and all its little unique aspects.

The next step to my method is to COMPLETELY finish up the product that I have – be it a sample, miniature size of the product, regular size or anything in between. This is so that I have a fully informed opinion of the product and the entire experience of using it. This is a very important step to me, because reviewing a product after one use, say a soap, is like reading the first page of a book in my eyes. I want to have an opinion of the entire product experience so that afterwards I know how much I truly like, and would like to repurchase, that product or not.

Once the product is completely finished, I upload my review of it!

My overall mission here is to find my favouite of each product type Lush sells, so that I can ultimately just primarily keep repurchasing that one product of that category – so my favourite shampoo, my favourite conditioner, my favourite soap, favourite body wash product etc.

I hope you enjoy my review today!


Respect Your Elders Soap (100g):

Rating: 4/5*

Cons:

This soap becomes absolutely disgusting once you reach the center of the soap. I’m not even joking. It started breaking up into pieces, and those pieces turned pale and kinda grey and honestly, looked like chunks of brain. That’s how my partner described the soap’s appearance once it had reached that point and honestly, I totally agree. It looked so flipping nasty!

Once the soap gets really broken in and turns soft, it doesn’t lather up super easily like it would before. It kinda goes mushy and yeah, it becomes more of a challenge to obtain a proper lather from the product.

I don’t know if this is just because of it being a soap in general or what, but I found this soap to be somewhat drying to my hands. Not extremely so, but definitely somewhat.

The name is… I dunno! It makes me feel like I’m supposed to be an elderly person using the soap or something..? I know that is ridiculous and stupid, I’m just not a fan of the name of this one! It is also a bit of a mouthful to say to be honest!


Pros:

This soap is purple!!! I didn’t take a photo of the soap before I started using it unfortunately (I only actually do that for the bath products I use – I shall get into the habit of photographing my products ASAP!) It is just… ugh. Super flipping gorgeous. It was a very, very dark purple, with a yoghurty lighter purple shade on the top of it. Absolutely gorgeous! Here’s a photo that I have found that looks very similar to how my piece of soap did. I found the image on Becky Bedbug’s blog post:

respect-your-elders-soap

This soap lathers up quite nicely. Before you reach the center of the soap, the soap lathers up absolutely wonderfully. A very creamy lather that appears super easily. Once you reach the center of the soap, the lather is more difficult to obtain but is still very creamy.

The texture of the soap, again, until you reach the center, is lovely. The soap has a rougher, bumpy texture on the top of it, that feels really nice as you massage the bar into your hands. This bumpiness also makes the soap very slightly exfoliating, and allows for a very easy lather. It also makes the soap more interesting!

The smell was lovely. It smelled like dark, rich berries. If you like fruity berry smells then I promise that you’ll love the smell of this soap!

The soap worked well and did its job at cleaning my hands!

Respect Your Elders is slightly moisturising, which is a nice touch.


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, this soap was really nice when I was first using it, before the soap started breaking up into pieces. I was actually really pleasantly surprised by this soap. I have hardly heard anyone speaking about this soap at all – in fact, I think I haven’t actually heard anyone mentioning this soap. It is so nice though, so it is a shame that it doesn’t get much attention! I enjoyed this soap, but it was also far from perfect…

I’m going to rate this soap a 4/5* rating, because it was really nice but could definitely do with some major tweaks!

Products I am working on using up:

Sparkly Pumpkin Bubble Bar
Trichomania Solid Shampoo
Ocean Salt Self Preserving And Alcohol Free Face And Body Scrub
Let The Good Times Roll Cleanser
Atomic Tooth Powder
Full Of Grace Serum
Grease Lightning Spot Treatment
Sugar Plum Fairy Lip Scrub
Sugar Plum Fairy Lip Tint
Snow Fairy Body Conditioner
Dirty Shower Gel
From Dusk ‘Til Dawn Massage Bar
Snow Fairy Dusting Powder
R&B Hair Moisturiser
Marilyn Hair Treatment
Goth Fairy Shimmer Bar
Bohemian Soap

Which of the above products are you most excited to see my review for? Leave a comment below 😀 I should have my reviews out for a lot of these products shortly 🙂

– Storm

Leave a Reply

