Lush Magical Moringa Moisturiser Review

Magical Moringa Moisturiser:

Rating: 3/5*

Cons:

If you want to really feel your face feeling very moisturised after using a moisturiser, this is not the one for you! After using a moisturiser, I like to really be able to feel the product on my skin, so that I know it is doing its job! After applying a lot of this moisturiser you can feel it on the skin, but… I don’t know… It just doesn’t really feel as moisturising as any other moisturiser I have used from Lush to be honest!

Sometimes, I actually found this moisturiser to be drying to my skin! My concealer would sit terribly and wouldn’t be able to blend out well at all when applied over a layer of Magical Moringa… Honestly, I think this moisturiser by itself is pretty terrible!

Any makeup on my face would just look dry, flakey, cakey and would just settle in any texture on my face whatsoever, after using this moisturiser by itself. It definitely isn’t one that really improves the overall appearance of one’s makeup!

You have to use A LOT of this product to feel it doing anything at all to your skin.

Okay, this is going to sound strange, but… This moisturiser smells like curry. Like a delicious, spicy curry. Maybe some of you guys don’t want your face smelling like a good ol’curry all day 😀

This moisturiser melts with the warmth of your fingers – it is what it melts into that scares me a bit. It melts into an oil pretty much. Applying something so oily to my skin kind of terrifies me because I have very sensitive skin, so it is easy for me to get acne! If you are quite acne prone then I really wouldn’t suggest this one for you.

THIS MOISTURISER IS SO EXPENSIVE!!! No, seriously. It is definitely a love or hate product so guys, if you are interested please for the love of God, get a sample before purchasing it!

This moisturiser not only doesn’t FEEL very moisturising on the skin at all, it also takes away any APPEARANCE of moisture in your skin. For some people, this is absolutely fantastic! For me, I like some slight dewyness to my skin because I think moisturised skin looks more healthy. If you feel the same way then again, steer away from this little guy!


Pros:

Okay so for me personally, I absolutely love the smell of this moisturiser! I don’t care if my face smells like a Indian spices, so long as it smells good! Like, this is the best smelling moisturiser that I think I’ve ever smelt… It smells absolutely incredible!

This moisturiser applied over the top of a good serum works absolutely fine. In fact, I really like the way this moisturiser works over a serum. It isn’t heavy at all, the serum keeps the skin’s texture slighly dewy and looking healthy, the serum keeps the skin nicely moisturised… Under a serum, this moisturiser just leaves your skin feeling really soft, incredibly smooth and quite lovely!

I haven’t had any absolutely terrible acne while using this moisturiser, although it certainly hasn’t stopped my acne from occurring either. But it at least hasn’t appeared to make it any worse!

I find that I need to re-apply powder to my face a little less when using this moisturiser as opposed to others from Lush. It doesn’t stop me from needing to re-apply powder entirely, but it does keep my face looking alright for longer.

Again, when applied OVER a serum, my makeup just sort of “works” better than it usually would. I don’t have to apply so much concealer because it just goes further over the top of a serum and Magical Moringa. I’m not quite sure why, but it is a really nice quality of this moisturiser.

Honestly, I received this moisturiser as a sample and man, Lush was generous with their sample of this moisturiser. It lasted me a really nice amount of time! Definitely worth asking for a good sample of Magical Moringa Moisturiser to try at home, right?


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, meh… I don’t really know what to think of this one.

For the billionth time, it works nicely under a serum, but do I really want to be applying a serum to my face EVERY MORNING…? I usually prefer to apply a serum before bed or something, so that it can sink in while I sleep and so that my skin doesn’t feel so heavy throughout the day…

The smell is really nice though, and the effects over a serum are honestly pretty damn good.

I’m going to rate this moisturiser a 3/5* rating. It’s a shame because it does smell absolutely delicious… I just don’t really think it was moisturising enough for me.

Before trying Lush products, I would have thought this moisturiser to be absolutely perfect for me, because my skin can get really oily throughout the day. But since using Lush products, I’ve sort of learnt just how much your skin needs moisture in order to be its healthiest, and I just don’t feel that this moisturiser provided that for me personally.

– Storm

Leave a Reply

