Lush Cupcake Fresh Face Mask Review

Hello again! Here’s another Lush review for another product that my partner bought for me, how lovely is he? 😀 I hope you enjoy!


Cupcake Fresh Face Mask:

Rating: 4/5*

Cons:

My face didn’t feel THAT different after using this mask. I mean, it did feel different, just not as different as I would expect from a mask really. If you get this mask then use it more as a fun product for a pamper evening or something, rather than a miracle product that will do wonders for your skin!

Spreading a chocolate spread scented, coloured and textured product onto my face felt a little bit… wrong. It felt like I was putting a product on my face that just wasn’t going to do it any good. With all the cocoa butter and vanilla in there, how different from chocolate spread even is this product haha! Okay, I’m only being half serious 😉 But seriously, I know SO MANY of Lush products have cocoa butter in them and usually I’m kinda alright with it, but this time…? I don’t know, the product just didn’t feel like something that was good for my skin!

After a while of using the product, it will become slightly thicker. When Cupcake gets like this, pieces of the mask will begin to crumble off of your face while waiting to wash it off. This was pretty annoying!

This face mask becomes INCREDIBLY difficult to spread around the face after a while – but I did find a solution to this. When my face mask got like this, I begun wetting my face before applying the mask. That way it would spread and apply MUCH easier, and the effects were just about the same to be honest!

This mask is going to last you absolutely yonks. For some people, that’s a great thing! For others, not so much. It could become quite tedious using the same mask for weeks on end. I personally used this mask probably once every other week or so on average… Some of those times with my partner using it too… And this mask has legit lasted me since the 15th August 2016, and honestly, I only just used the last bit of it yesterday, the 4th February 2017. I know that A LOT of you are going to think that it is absolutely disgusting and terrible for my skin etc etc that I used this product for so long, but I’m sure some of you will see it like I do. I only stop using a product once it changes noticeably. The only change I saw with this mask was that it became thicker – but that is something that gradually happens with masks after each use. I just kept it in the fridge and it was fine! Either way, it lasting this long was pretty damn tedious. I’m guessing I’ve personally used this mask around 10 times, and that my partner has used it around 3 times, so 10-15 uses in total! That’s nuts for such a small pot of product!

This face mask doesn’t have much grittiness to it and isn’t exfoliating whatsoever. The only hard bits this mask has in it are really chunky and hard pieces of… something… but they are so few and far between that all they do is dig into your skin a bit!


Pros:

The scent and whole concept of this face mask is soooooooooooooooo good. Like I said before, I’m not 100% sure I really WANT to be applying chocolate spread to my face but damn, it does smell, look, and feel just like a mix between cake batter and delicious chocolate spread… It is the PERFECT product for chocoholics. If you’re a bit of a chocoholic yourself, you’ll looooooooooooooove this face mask!

There’s both spearmint and peppermint oil in this mask, which gives a really nice cooling feeling while the mask is on your face and for a short while after. It is really lovely, and definitely makes the mask overall feel a lot less heavy. The mask doesn’t really smell minty to me at all, so it just leaves that nice cooling effect. Definitely makes your face feel super fresh after use!

My skin did feel nicer after using this. Even if only slightly, it is still an improvement on my skin before using the mask. Your skin will feel smoother, SLIGHTLY more moisturised, cleaner, clearer, brighter, fresher, more colourful… The effects are quite nice, just don’t expect to feel like you have entirely different skin on your face after using it! If you don’t mind the effects of your mask being very subtle then give this one a go 🙂

This mask is really easy to wash off compared to others!

This was a gift and I was very happy to receive it! I think this mask would make an incredible gift for chocolate lovers!

I know I listed this as a con, but this product lasting for ages might be a pro for some people. You definitely get your moneys worth, that’s for sure! I guess if this turns out to be your holy grail product or something, then this product lasting so long is a brilliant feature for you!

This is a Lush product, which is an amazing company – plus it is vegan! I’d try any vegan product from Lush at least once, so if you are having difficulties deciding whether to try this mask or not, I’d say you should give it a go!


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, this mask was okay. It is more of a luxury product, in the sense that it doesn’t really do much for the skin, but the chocolatey concept is really, really good. I’m personally not the MOST massive chocolate fan, so the main benefits I got from this product were its effects, which weren’t incredible.

Overall, I’m going to rate this face mask a 4/5* because it is a really nice mask, but it definitely isn’t brilliant. I actually had extremely high expectations for this mask because according to its description, it should have been absolutely perfect for my skin. It was really nice all the same!

– Storm

Leave a Reply

