Lush Old Father Time Hand And Body Soap Review

This isn’t a soap I got recently – in fact, I picked it up in the Boxing Day sale back in 2015! I finally used my piece all up, and here is my review for it πŸ™‚


Old Father Time Hand And Body Soap:

Rating: 4/5*

Cons:

This soap doesn’t have a sweet smell to it. In fact, the scent reminds me almost of… dust? It has a dusty, old book, tree, woodsy, incencey sort of scent to it – if that makes any sense at all! It is a very difficult scent to describe… it sort of smells like a nice smelling hippie’s den haha! Anyway, it isn’t a sweet smell in the slightest really, so if you don’t like more earthy, smokey scents, this one isn’t going to be for you at all!

The lather of this soap is, well, a murky brown-orange-red colour. This isn’t a massive deal, but it does take a bit of getting used to. It definitely does make the soap messier than some of the others that I’ve used, because it really is so pigmented. I know this soap will definitely be too messy for some!

Another problem with the colour of the lather, and of the soap overall, is that it looks almost gorey to me. It is a deep maroon colour, and honestly, when the soap is sitting in its soap dish with browny red coloured soap water dripping down the sides of the sink… I dunno, maybe I’m really weird, but nonetheless I found the appearance of this soap quite creepy – almost like having a chunk of liver in my soap dish!

This was a Christmas Exclusive soap in 2015 – and didn’t even return for 2016! If you happen to really enjoy this soap, you could very well find that you have a difficult time trying to stock up on the stuff I’m afraid!

The scent of Old Father Time definitely fades over time. The scent of my piece of this soap was much milder toward the end of its days. The scent remaining was more of a general soap scent, with just a slight hint of its original scent still present.


Pros:

The design of this soap is SO GORGEOUS! This soap has golden cogs going through it and wow, it is just absolutely stunning. The orangey-golden cogs are absolutely full of lustre and are more creamy and soft than the rest of the soap. Extremely lovely to use!

This soap overall was surprisingly moisturising. I don’t know why, but when I first received this soap I assumed it wouldn’t be very moisturing at all, but it really was. Perhaps not quite AS moisturising as some other soaps but it was pretty damn good! Definitely not a drying soap at least.

The scent is definitely one that both all genders can enjoy. My partner loved this soap and I think it was quite a nice one too. When I asked him if there was anything he would want to add to my review of the soap, he said: “I like how it got softer the more you worked it. I like how creamy it was. It was really nice!” πŸ™‚


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, this soap was mostly a pleasure to use. It was definitely a fun experience, it is very different to any other Lush soap I have used thus far!

I am going to rate Old Father Time a 4/5* rating. Honestly, it reminding me of a chunk of liver or… something… really put me off! I would have given it less stars, but how much my partner enjoyed it sort of nudged it up somewhat!

– Storm

Leave a Reply

