I want to TRAVEL…

I want to travel.

And I don’t mean a quick trip to somewhere exotic like Thailand or India.

If I could, I’d just stop everything I’m doing, book a ticket somewhere random and just leave, never to return as a permanent resident to drab old England  – ever.

I don’t have a plan or even much idea of where I want to go. I honestly haven’t given it much thought. I just know that here is not where I am supposed to be.

I feel in my heart and in my core that travelling and seeing the world is the type of lifestyle that I’m supposed to have, and I just feel endlessly unsatisfied, bored and lifeless without it being in my life to that extent.

I feel like the type of life I’m living is not even really LIVING at all… And the lifestyles that those around me lead definitely doesn’t feel “right” to me either.

If you live in a big city then you know exactly what I mean – the main focuses of everyday life is:

1. To earn as much money as possible,

2. To spend your life on social media and trying to impress others – what other people think of oneself is of utmost importance,

3. To maintain the status quo, to just accept what is and to not be concerned with changing the dynamics of one’s life,

4. GOALS, PLANS, LIVING A SUCCESSFUL LIFE and THE FUTURE – living in and enjoying moments in the PRESENT are far less important than careful planning for the future,

5. Media, electronics and having no real human connection with other people or the natural world,

6. Having to EARN the right to allow yourself to just be free and do what the hell you want to do with your money and your life – you have to SAVE and WORK a certain amount before it is seen as acceptable for you to “splurge” and go abroad for example…

I’m too afraid to break away entirely from the life I’ve planned for myself. I can’t just up and start travelling around the world.

I do think I’m going to start making travel more of a priority in my life though – I think that if you want to travel then you have to realize a few things…

  1. There is honestly never going to seem to be enough free time to go and do it, you just have to MAKE the time (every single week, I have Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays off entirely, and have Thursday evenings off… in my opinion, even THAT is more than enough time to travel a little without having to compromise my sleep or my education…)
  2. You have to get out of the MINDSET that travel is not a priority and that you ought to be doing something more productive with your time, when there are so many benefits to travelling – it isn’t just an unnecessary luxury but something I believe truly enriches one’s life
  3. STOP USING THE EXCUSE THAT YOU CANNOT AFFORD TO TRAVEL! There are search functions on many comparison flight websites that allow you to set your destination as “Anywhere”, and some of these sites even allow you to set your outbound and inbound dates as “Cheapest Month”… I’ve seen return flights to places for as little as £13! Besides that, there are so many ways that you can go abroad and stay somewhere for practically free – in many hostels you are able to work to earn your stay, you can try couch surfing, house sitting, work remotely online etc etc etc. Travelers generally won’t just save up a certain amount, allow that money to run out and return home once it has all been used up! They will usually leave with not much and earn money / trade their skills for board or food etc etc etc. This is such an important skill for anyone who wants to travel because learning how to be self sufficient while travelling makes a traveler LIMITLESS! They can literally travel AS LONG AS THEY WANT TO.
  4. Lay off the planning for the future for a little while. What I mean by this, is that when I think about travelling, I always get this nagging voice in my head saying that this is the time in my life where education is a focus and not the time for travel. I get this nagging voice saying I shouldn’t be spending so much money and that I should be saving and investing for my future. Although thinking about the future is undoubtedly a very valuable thing to do, you also have to realize how that way of thinking usually works. You have a goal, say to save up £5k in savings. You reach that goal but even though you promised yourself that once at that point, you’d allow yourself to travel and treat yourself a little, instead you come up with a new goal – say to save up £10k. This goal-orientated way of thinking is always looking to the future and never allowing yourself to just live in and enjoy the present. Balance is healthy, and I think so long as one doesn’t completely blow all of their money on travel without any idea of how they will sustain themselves in the future, then they should be fine.
  5. You can’t travel because you don’t have the equipment to do so? Bullshit. You only need to take with you what the place you are going to visit will not be able to provide for you. Things you use everyday basically – and even a lot of those things you can buy extremely easily once you are there. All you really need is shampoo, conditioner, body wash, toothpaste, toothbrush, cleanser, any makeup you absolutely must have (concealer, face powder and eyebrow powder for me,) basic everyday clothing, a phone, a book, swimwear, sun cream, lotion, a bag… Oh, and some walking shoes. Just basically anything that is important!

    So… Who’s ready for some adventure…?

    I am!

    Do you feel an urge to just get up and travel? What are some of your travel plans? What places would you love to see? Comment down below!

2 thoughts on “I want to TRAVEL…

  1. I get the urge to travel all of the time.. Life how it is now is so boring! And none of us asks to be born into a life where all we have to do is go to school, go to work for a certain amount of years then retire with pretty much less than we expect to have.. It really sucks.

    Like

    • Exactly! It isn’t that travel itself is difficult, it’s that modern day society brainwashes us to feel as though we are doing something wrong by travelling, and are doing something right by spending our entire lives in education/working! When elderly people have been asked what they would change about their lives, one of the most common things that come up is that they wish they had worked LESS and had done MORE in their lives! I could die tomorrow for all I know – I want to be able to look back at my life and feel happy with how much of the world I experienced, and how little I let anything hold me back from doing so!

      Like

Leave a Reply

