Lush Golden Wonder Bath Bomb Review

I was lucky enough to be given a £100 Lush gift card for Christmas from my partner so of course, I spent it on the Boxing Day sale! I wasn’t super organised though and failed to picture everything and upload a “What I got for Christmas” blog post, but I am going to be making a post on my current Lush stash very soon.

At the Lush store we went to on Boxing Day, all the Golden Wonder Bath Bombs were sold out. Luckily I brought my partner along with me, because while I was grabbing the individual bath bombs, he went and grabbed me the Golden Wonder gift set which of course, includes the Golden Wonder Bath Bomb! I was so chuffed 🙂

I wish I were more organised – I’ve gotten such lovely things over Christmas and also did over my Birthday, and I would have loved to have blogged about them!

Anyway, here is my review of the Golden Wonder Bath Bomb 🙂 I hope you enjoy!

(I’m sorry in advanced for the terrible quality of the photos I have uploaded. My laptop has gone for repair so the only way I could edit photos and transfer the edited copies onto wordpress was through messenger, which really has killed the quality!)


Golden Wonder Bath Bomb

Rating: 4/5*

Cons:

This is a Christmas Exclusive item so, if you happen to absolutely love it, you’re going to have a tough time getting your hands on it during the rest of the year!

The scent… Okay, I get that it shares its scent with Celebrate Lotion etc, but honestly? It was just such a weak scent, and didn’t linger for me at all. If you are expecting a strong scent from this one then you are going to be very disappointed.

It is SO glittery! Anytime I held this bath bomb before using it, my finger tips would be absolutely coated in golden lustre. It was a bit of a pain!

Okay so this is a weird con but hey, maybe I’m a bit of a weird girl. The colour bothered me. Not because of the colour itself, but to me the bath water genuinely looked like a sea or ocean, and that sort of terrified me. I’m really scared of sharks, so sitting in a bath of water that makes me feel as though I’m in the middle of a tropical sea or ocean somewhere was sort of unsettling. It was especially creepy because I was the only one awake at the time and it was in the early hours of the morning (maybe around 3am…) Maybe if you have a similar sort of fear, you should steer away from Golden Wonder!

This bath bomb was very residue-y. I wish I had rinsed off in the shower after taking a bath with this bath bomb but honestly, my fear of sharks just sort of caused me to shoot out the bathroom ASAP! I was really freaked out! Anyway, the gold stars that are released by this bath bomb were sort of buttery, and also left residue around the bath tub. Basically, some additional rinsing of both the bath and yourself will be required after bathing with Golden Wonder.

The rattle or whatever the surprise is meant to be in the center…? I didn’t hear anything at all when I shook the bath bomb around.


Pros:

I think this bath bomb looks absolutely gorgeous! It is a beautiful yellow-golden package with a lovely cream coloured big bow on the top. It is also really big! It definitely looks very special for a bath bomb.

This bath bomb fizzed away quite nicely. It was a fast-medium fizzer.

Almost straight after the bath bomb began fizzing away, the only part of the bath bomb that was visible above the water was the cream coloured bow, which I thought was adorable! It looked really cute just seeing a cream bow travelling around the bath as it fizzed away.

The colours of this bath bomb are lovely. Beautiful golden yellows, creams, blues, pinks… Super pretty!

This bath bomb made the bath water genuinely look like a tropical sea/ocean somewhere. If that sounds like your kinda thing, absolutely go for it!

The scent was nice and fresh.

The golden stars released were really cute!

I found this bath to be somewhat moisturising.


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, I didn’t like this bath bomb all that much… The colour of the water sort of scared me, the bath bomb left behind residue, the scent was very weak… It’s a real shame, because I think that the bath bomb looked so beautiful before putting it in the bath, and I really think this is one that has a lot of potential. Perhaps I just shouldn’t have used it in the middle of night to prevent my mind from wondering too much.

Overall, I’m going to rate this bath bomb a 4/5* BECAUSE my partner found it for me in the store and it was a gift from him, and I definitely think it is overall a really nice bath bomb! I think I just used it at a rubbish time of the day to be honest, otherwise I’m sure I would have had a better experience with it. Although, the scent was definitely somewhat of a let down!

– Storm

Leave a Reply

