Lush Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask Review

Okay, so FINALLY I have a review for the Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask from Lush. I purchased this yonks ago, but it has lasted me absolutely ages! I know it’s a fresh face mask and that you aren’t supposed to use it past it’s best before date, but it didn’t really change all that much and the effects on my face were similar right up until I finished it. I’ll only stop using a Lush product after it’s best before date if it starts to look or smell weird to me. Each to their own right?

Let’s begin with the cons 🙂


Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask

Rating: 3/5*

Cons:

This face mask is horrible when it is drying on your face. I mean ABSOLUTELY horrid! I always time face masks that say 5 to 10 minutes for 8 minutes, and the mask is completely dried way before then, meaning I have to suffer for the rest of the time I have left before washing the mask off… When the mask dries, it will flake off absolutely everywhere, with even the smallest of movements. It also becomes super, super, super, super itchy all over the face when it dries – especially around the nostrils! If this sounds like an absolute pain (and trust me, it really is…,) then DON’T try this mask! You have been warned!

The smell… To me it smells super powdery, and kinda reminds me of the taste of those powdery chewable teddy bear vitamins I used to eat as a kid… It smells kinda vile to me. Really sickly.

The mask itself is incredibly dry before you even apply it. The mask is really difficult to apply and the only way I was able to apply it reasonably was by wetting my face first. It just doesn’t stick or spread well on dry skin!

The second highest ingredient on the ingredients list for this mask is talc, which explains a lot. I’ve never seen talc as being a very safe ingredient to use, and it makes this mask super chalky.

I never liked the way this mask looked all that much. Again, it just looks kinda dry and talcy.

When rinsing this mask off the face very thoroughly, it is likely that you will still find some talcy residue left behind in areas of your face. It can be quite difficult to rinse off!


Pros:

Despite all the problems that one faces when attempting to use this mask, it does leave my facial skin very healthy. Even the morning after having used it, when I look in the mirror my face always looks really colourful, fresh, clean, soft and just really healthy! My spots and scarring appears reduced and my face just looks really smooth. The effects of this mask are really lovely!

This mask lasts absolutely ages. I don’t know how exactly, considering how dry this mask is, but I have gotten so many uses out of it! I share it with my partner, and still it has lasted me forever… This might sound gross to you guys, but I have managed to make it last 5 months and 4 days! Again, it didn’t change in scent or anything over that time period and I have kept it in the fridge consistently. It also definitely hasn’t done anything bad to my skin! If you want a long lasting mask… this could be the one!

This mask is vegan, handmade, from Lush, cruelty free, made from natural ingredients… I reckon it’s worth trying at least once for those reasons alone!

When using this mask on a wet face, it applies really smoothly and easily. It also washes off much easier in the bath or shower as opposed to rinsing it off over the skin. It also doesn’t get anywhere near as flaky with this method because the layer of mask applied is much thinner. It doesn’t itch anywhere near as much either. I even think the effects of this mask were better when using it this way!


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, I wasn’t keen on this mask, but I feel conflicted because the effects of it were really nice, and I did find a way to use it that made everything much easier.

I’m going to rate this mask a 3/5*. It’s a shame because I did find a way that it works really well, but the smell… I can’t stand it! I really really can’t. The effects are really lovely though so if the smell doesn’t make you feel ill, it’s worth a go.

– Storm

Leave a Reply

