Life and Blog Update!

Hey guys! 🙂

So, recently I feel like my blog has been really disorganised and I just want to make a little blog update post to clear everything up. This is just going to be a super general post! I will write about my upcoming birthday, my travels over the past year or so, how my education is going, how I’ve been thinking about updating my appearance and last but not least, I will be writing briefly about Lush.


23rd Birthday

The first things I want to post about are to do with my birthday. It is in fact my 23rd birthday this Monday (17th.)

This means a few things – on my 22nd birthday, I gave myself some goals that I wanted to achieve before my 23rd birthday. On my birthday I will try to blog about how I did with these different goals (I was pretty tough on myself, I think there were something like 30 goals…,) as well as possibly write up what my new goals will be to achieve before my 24th birthday! Having goals can be stressful sometimes, but I think it is really important overall for a person’s happiness.

When I turned 22, I actually cried because I felt so upset about the age I had just lost. Making myself goals made me realise that I can have a really exciting year and that I still have so much to look forward to in my life – which made me feel more young and at peace with my age. I am now happy to be 22, and will be happy to be 23 too – so long as I give myself some goals to achieve!

I haven’t looked at my list of goals for a while but I do know for a fact that I have not achieved most of them – although I have achieved some of the pretty important ones in my opinion. I’m going to do my best to squeeze in a couple more achievements before Monday though! Some I might achieve just after my birthday – for example, one of my goals was to brave it and get my first tattoo, which I’ve been thinking I could organise as a birthday present to myself sometime next week! 



Travels

The second things I’d like to talk about in this post are about my travels. I have failed to post about them, although I still do intend to do so soon!

I went to Italy last year in August – it was such an incredible experience! It was my very first travelly adventure with my partner and was my first trip abroad independent from my family. I have so many beautiful photographs and memories from that holiday so look forward to a post detailing it soon!

My partner also took me to Paris for Valentines day this year – again, another overall beautiful holiday that i’ll be sure to post about. We also went to visit my family in Glasgow in July of this year, and at the start of September I went on holiday with my partner’s family to Turkey!

So many adventures that I so badly want to share with you guys! There is just so much to say for every one of these travels and so many photographs to choose from, which is why I haven’t blogged about them yet – but I will!



Education

The third things I’d like to talk about surround my educational pursuits. When I first began this blog, it was definitely more orientated toward my studies, and over the past year has changed direction toward…well… Lush… Quite frankly, I have always thought of my blog as somewhere for me to write about whatever I want to write about – I made it for myself primarily, so I guess my blog posting activity just reflects where I am in my life at the time!

Anyways, so my education. Yes, I am still aiming to be an Astronomer and yes, I am still fascinated with Astrobiology. I am currently on a degree… of sorts… Well, I am on an “Initial Year”, which will lead me onto a degree in Astrophysics should I do well enough.

I applied through UCAS and am an official student of both the college I attend for the initial year and of the University that I will attend after the year is completed. The course I applied to on UCAS is stated as a 4 year degree, so technically I’m on a degree…? Or I’m on a course that includes a degree… I don’t know but either way, I’m on the course I need to be on 🙂

The university is definitely one of the ones that are actually worth applying to if you want to study Physics & Astronomy in the UK. When comparing entry requirements and the ranking of different universities, some are actually statistically more difficult to get into, yet overall are a worse university compared to others that are easier to get into. Why waste effort to get into a bad university, when that effort could be better spent to get into a good university? I don’t know, that’s just my opinion!

The University I attend isn’t the best but I feel it is definitely a good starting point. As long as I work hard and get the most out of the course as I can, I should be able to take my Masters somewhere a bit better. Everyday I make sure to get as much as I possibly can out of my course, and I’m really enjoying it so far! 



Appearances

The fourth updatey things I’d like to talk about are about appearances I guess.

I love septum rings, because I think they just make you look super adorable! They just look sooo cute! I mean, I think I look fine without one, but they add to the cuteness :3 I pierced my own septum around 18 months ago or so, but I pierced it kinda crooked so I’ll be redoing it soon!

If you are considering getting it done, I’d 100% recommend it. If you decide you don’t like it, the holes are inside your nose so you won’t see the scars, or you can just wear a horseshoe jewelry piece and flip it up inside your nose so that no one can see it! I think they look really cute though and that the piercing looks good with other piercings too. Considering piercings take between 4 weeks and 12 months to heal, the septum piercing is one of the fastest healers too (2 months!)

I’ve also wanted my navel pierced for the longest time. It’s a nice discrete piercing that looks both lovely by itself and with other piercings. I think they look super sexy and again, I think my tummy looks great without a navel piercing and I don’t need one to think my tummy is sexy, but the navel piercing does help! 

I quit dying my hair around 2 and a half years ago. Since then, I have been slowly cutting out any remaining dyed hair and finally, earlier this year I had no dyed hair left! Now I’m just enjoying growing my natural and healthy hair. I had been dying my hair since I was around 12 years old, and had never had a full head of natural hair since then and all the way up until earlier this year. That’s around 10 1/2 years of dyed hair! I thought I’d absolutely hate my natural hair colour but I actually really like it! 

As for the first tattoo I’d like to get, I think I’d like a tattoo that is on my side… It’s a nice and discrete location. I think I’d like it to be a tattoo that my partner designs – maybe a phrase he says to me but in his own handwriting, possibly a hand drawn image too.

A lot of people say you shouldn’t get tattoos that are to do with your partner, because you might split up and then want the tattoo removed. The thing is, even if we did split up, he has still been such a important part of my life and has brought me so much happiness. I share so many memories with him and no matter the circumstances, it remains true that right now he makes me happy.

I think I would never want a tattoo removed that symbolizes me being happy at this time of my life. I don’t need the tattoo, I feel secure enough without it, but I do think it will help make me feel more comforted and happy when he isn’t around. 



Lush

The fifth thing I want to talk about is Lush. 

Yes, the number of Lush posts I have been writing is slowing down. I haven’t purchased any new items since probably around 6 months ago. This is really sad, but it is because I have been on a tight budget for a while now, so buying Lush just isn’t as easy as it was before.

I still have plenty of products left to review in my home but I’m not using them as much. That’s because I’m busy but also I think because I know that once they’re gone, I might not be able to replace them. I’m still obsessed with Lush, I expect my next reviews to probably be on Yog Nog Soap, Jumping Juniper Shampoo Bar and I guess Rose Jam Shower Gel, just because those are the 3 items I am using the most at the moment.

I also still need to take photos for my reviews but again, I haven’t been to a Lush store recently. I’ll make sure I take some photos when I do next go!

Thank you for reading, see you soon!

– Storm

Leave a Reply

