Lush Sea Monster Fun Review.

Hey guys!

Today is an interesting review. This is the first bath product I have used from Lush, and it was one of the prizes I won from Emily Snow’s competition that she held on her YouTube channel: Emily Snow’s YouTube Channel.

I hardly ever win anything, so it was a really pleasant surprise – she even literally came to my doorstep to deliver my prizes to me! I honestly would really recommend checking our her channel – she is a lovely girl and makes plenty of enjoyable videos to watch. Emily asked me to write a post on the competition that she held – which I terribly still have not gotten around to doing. Sorry!

Regardless, this is a review of the ‘Sea Monster Fun’ that I received from her, I hope you enjoy!

 


Sea Monster Fun

Rating: 4/5*

Cons:

This is the first fun bar I have used, so I’m not sure if this is the case with all of them. My fun bar sort of turned to a liquidy, gooey mess toward the end of its days. Although you could find something else to store your ‘Fun’ in, it only comes in some plastic wrapping. Of course, I used this whilst in the shower, so my hands would be wet when I’d grab a piece off of the main bar. Over time, I guess this caused the bar to become super liquidy! I would leave the bar in the plastic on the side of my bath, and because it became so liquidy, it would drip down both the outside and inside of my bath. It can get quite messy!

After using this bar on my hair, my hair would honestly feel really tangled up. If you do get this bar, I’d honestly probably recommend that you don’t use it to wash your  hair, unless you don’t mind knotty hair.

Again, the packaging is pretty rubbish to be honest. A black pot would be a much better way to package this Fun bar! The packaging that it comes in just isn’t secure at all, and definitely won’t hold the bar should it become more liquidy.

I’d sometimes find that I’d need to use quite a bit of the bar to make my bath bubbly / to wash my hair / to wash my body. If you get it, expect to have to use a fair chunk of your bar to achieve these tasks!

Before I had really used the product, I separated each of the coloured pieces and molded them in my hands, to make them more soft. After doing so, I recall my hands were slightly stained and that the colour was quite difficult to remove from my skin. I haven’t had the same problem since – it was just from molding the product in my hands for quite a bit of time. Regardless, if that doesn’t sound pleasant to you, then maybe this Fun isn’t for you!

When I molded the bar in my hands for the first time, it was actually quite tough. I didn’t try to make any little models or anything with the Fun, but I imagine it would have been quite difficult to do so. My hands were achy after I finally successfully molded the 3 separate pieces of Fun in my hands until they became soft.

This is quite a floral, citrussy scent. I enjoy this sort of scent, but some people may not – so if you don’t, this Fun isn’t for you!

The colours of this fun bar aren’t super girly. The colours are yellow, green and blue.  Again, I like these colours, but some people might not! The bathwater when using this Fun bar will be either a green-turquise colour, a light green-blue colour or a greeny-yellow colour. Some people might not enjoy their bath water being these greeny colours!

It can be quite difficult to get this Fun to lather up sometimes. It would take me a while to lather it up on my sponge, and I’d need quite a bit of product to clean my entire body properly. Washing my hair was more of the same issues. Using the bar as a bubble bar was the least difficult, but even then I’d sometimes need to use quite a bit of the bar for it to work how I’d want it to. Working out how much product you need through trial and error can be quite time consuming.

Again, using this product would take a while – it definitely would not be what I’d reach for when I’m in a hurry, like for my morning showers before college.

The scent of his product, although beautiful, faded toward the end of the Fun bar.

This is basically play-dough, which might not be that appealing as a bathroom product for some people!


Pros:

This product, however difficult it can be to use, is really quite amazing. It has multiple functions, which is something I can’t say for most of the other Lush products I have used so far (at least not to the extent of this bar.) I brought it on holiday with me to Turkey a short time ago, and it was endlessly useful. A Lush shampoo and body wash in one, in a solid format? Yes please! It is absolutely ideal to travel with, and it having multiple purposes means that you can literally wash head to toe using this one product – or you could use it as a bubble bar and then soak in your bubbly bath water to give your hair and body a light wash! It is definitely super handy to have one of these in your bathroom!

The smell is so lovely! It is extremely refreshing – a seaweed, lemon, lime, lavender and gardenia scent. It smells exactly how you’d imagine it to – like all the best parts of the ocean and Summer. I would highly recommend this product simply for it’s incredible scent – it’s absolutely gorgeous and went perfectly with my holiday. It is a really clean, light, fresh scent – I love it!

The colours of this bar, in my opinion, are incredible. It is insane that this product is made from such natural ingredients, because the colouration is just so intensely pigmented. It really looks beautiful.

The baths that this bar produces when used as a bubble bar are just absolutely gorgeous. I never picked and chose what colours I wanted to use for my bath, I’d just randomly pluck a piece off and wait to see how my bath turned out. One time, my bath was a super bright lime green colour – I remember thinking how perfect it would be closer to Halloween! One time, my bath was a gorgeous turquise colour, and reminded me of the perfectly turquise sea water when I was in Turkey. Other times, my bath would be a tranquil pale green-blue colour. I loved the colour of my baths, and would highly recommend using this Fun bar for that purpose.

As a bubble bar, this Fun bar produces absolutely incredible bubbles. Simply running some under the tap, I could fill the surface of my bath with cute bubbles. Turning on the jets, my bath would be absolutely piled with bubbles – often times I wouldn’t even need to use THAT much product to create such an intensely bubble bath! The bubbles also looked so lovely and colourful.

The bubbles would last absolutely ages in my bath – up to a couple of hours in total!

This did work effectively as a shampoo – my hair would always feel really clean after using this bar for my hair.

This bar also works effectively to wash the body with.

One time that I used this bar for my hair, the day I washed it my hair didn’t feel too great, but when I combed my hair through the day after, it felt absolutely incredible. It felt the smoothest it has felt in such a long time – so if you do wash your hair with this, I’d definitely recommend not washing your hair for a couple days after so that you can really notice to full effects of this bar being used as a shampoo.

I absolutely loved receiving this as a gift, and would recommend it to be given as a gift to others for sure. It is, well, fun!

When I’d take a bath using ‘Sea Monster Fun’ as a bubble bar, the bath water would feel super moisturising an would leave my skin feeling silky smooth.

Although I listed this factor as a con, once the bar turned more liquidy, I found that it lathered up so much easier. I would need far less to create ample bubbles, to lather up my hair and to wash my body with. So even the downsides of this bar has upsides!

The name of this bar is so fun!

This is, obviously, a product from Lush – 10p from every bar goes toward a fund to help children’s projects in areas affected by the 2011 tsunami and nuclear disaster in Japan. It being from Lush also means it is environmentally friendly, cruelty free, handmade, made from natural ingredients and this particular bar is also 100% vegan. For these reasons alone, I think this bar is worth a go.

This product was definitely fun to use! Probably the funnest product I have used from Lush yet – which is definitely saying something! Using this made me very happy 🙂


Overall Conclusion:

I really liked this bar. It has it’s faults – it definitely isn’t the easiest product to use, but it gets easier to use the more you use it. I think having one of these bars in the bathroom is a absolute must-have – it is just so insanely handy! This particular Fun bar also has gorgeous colouration and a beautiful scent.

Overall, I rate this product a 4/5* rating. It was very difficult to decide between 4 or 5 stars, but how knotty it would make my hair is what made me decide 4 rather than 5 stars for this particular product. I would highly recommend it. I would recommend primarily using it as a bubble bath product – but it also works quite well to wash the body with. It does wash the hair well, but it causes some problems in that area. I think this is a great product to use over the weekend, when you have more time to use it.

Until next time!

Thanks again Emily for this lovely prize – it was an absolute pleasure using it!

– Storm

Leave a Reply

