Lush Sunrise Review

Hello! Today is my review of Lush’s soap product called “Sunrise”. It was a mother’s day exclusive product earlier this year. Let’s begin!


Sunrise

Rating: 5/5*

Cons:

If you want to get this soap, I must warn you that it becomes very… slippery… toward the end of it’s days. The last chunk of my soap (I suppose an inner piece compromising of a lot of murumuru butter…) literally slipped out of my partners hand and down the drain while he was using it. If you think slippery soaps sound like a pain, this one isn’t for you!

The scent sort of fades with time. I have had this soap since Mother’s day (approximately 7 months ago now!) and only just finished using it up, but its fragrance has certainly been extremely mild for the past couple of weeks – in fact, I could hardly smell any sort of fragrance at all coming from this soap over the past couple of weeks.

This soap can become really difficult to lather up toward the end. When it gets to the point where it is quite small, it is mostly murumuru butter, and that by itself really isn’t a strong latherer.

Even when this soap was larger, I distinctively remember it slipping out of my hands and landing on the floor or into the sink several times. I don’t know what it is about the soap, it is just super slippery in general!

When using this soap toward the beginning, the lather is quite syrupy and has a very strong yellow-orange colour to it. It does wash off completely when you rinse your hands, but such a strong coloured lather does put me off a little bit. I’m not sure why – I think it is because it makes me feel like my hands are possibly less clean, or maybe it is because I am scared that some of the pigment will remain and stain my hands slightly after rinsing off the lather.

The soap changes from a vibrant fruity translucent orange colour, to a more soapy and opaque pale orange colour the more you use it. It definitely changes in appearance toward the end of it’s days in comparison to when it is initially bought. This is fine, but just be warned that it won’t stay looking like a sparkly semi-orb of wonder forever!

This soap is quite soft, so when it does drop on the floor at any point (and it will…) it will sustain some battle wounds, aka dents. I never had any of my soap actually break off, and the denting didn’t personally bother me too much, but it might bother some.


Pros:

This soap does smell really nice when you first get it – like orange flavoured lolly pops. It really is a lovely smell!

The colour is such a vibrant orange, it really is a beautiful looking soap. If you like the colour or the fruit orange, this soap is definitely one for you! 😉

This soap is made to look absolutely incredible with its gorgeous lustre running through it. The lustre really shows once you have used the soap and it is wet. It is a golden lustre and I really cannot describe how beautiful it looks in this semi-spherical shaped soap, but it really does look amazingly beautiful and magical!

The soap starts off washing your hands like a fairly standard soap from Lush – it lathers up okay and the lather is rather syruppy in texture. As you use the soap more and more, the lather gradually becomes more smooth and creamy, due to the murumuru butter in the centre. The mix of the initial cleansing lather of the soap and the creamy lather further on in the soap really makes this product a great one in my opinion.

The ingredients are all natural, the product is handmade, is vegan and from the incredible company Lush! Just that makes this product a win in my books. I know I say that in almost every review but it comes from the heart every single time. I truly believe it is worth it – to the customer, the company and all the organisations that the company helps – for people to buy and try out Lush’s beautiful products!

This soap was a Mother’s day release, and I bought one for my own Mummy. I think it made a wonderful gift as it lasts a very long time and is an all natural product – it feels nice knowing that my gift to my mother will not harm her in any way shape or form. I think this soap would make an amazing gift to almost anyone in fact – my partner even thoroughly enjoyed using, so it’s definitely one for the men too!

This is a very unique soap and I think it is one that is definitely worth at least a try.

This soap’s colour, name and well, just everything about it to be honest, really puts a smile on my face. It is a super happy soap!

The semi-spherical shape of this soap makes it fit really nicely in the palm of your hands, and makes it look different from all of Lush’s other soaps.

I really enjoy the concept of this soap. I love that it is called sunrise, looks like a sunrise and smells how you’d imagine a sunrise would smell on a warm summer’s day in some southern European country like Spain. It is a soap with a very warming feel to it (not literally, just emotionally.) Definitely worth a try!


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, this is a really nice soap. It reminds me of my youth actually – my favourite colour for approximately the first 13 years of my life was orange. This soap being such a happy one also reminds me of being a child, most children seem quite happy right?

I enjoy the smell of this one – not too sweet, just a subtly sweet orange scent. It looks absolutely incredible, the most beautiful Lush soap I have reviewed yet, due to that gorgeous orangey golden lustre in there!

I’m not so keen on the soap at all as it gets nearer to the end of it’s days, but I really enjoyed it for around 2/3 of the time I used it.

Overall, I rate this gorgeous soap a 5/5* rating. It has it’s faults, but the concept and beauty of this soap, as well as all it’s other pros, have really won me over this time!

Join me for another Lush review in just a moment, where I will be reviewing the infamous Angels on Bare Skin!

– Storm

Leave a Reply

