Lush Montalbano Shampoo Bar Review.

Hey guys!

Today is a review for Lush’s ‘Montalbano Shampoo Bar’!

Enjoy!


Montalbano Shampoo Bar Review:

Rating: 3/5*

Cons:

This shampoo bar actually left my hair feeling quite greasy toward the end of the bar! It didn’t do this at all until the bar was really running out, and then my hair just started to feel kinda greasy AFTER showering, or on some days, by the end of the day my hair would be quite oily. I’m not sure if it is just that continuous usage of this bar causes this, as I do wash my hair daily and it does contain some oils. All I know is this is the first Shampoo Bar from Lush that I have tried that has done this to my hair!

This bar is very soft, and can disintegrate quite easily. If you leave it damp in a tray, a LOT of the bottom of the shampoo bar will become stuck to the bottom of the tray. This is very irritating and probably wasted quite a bit of product for me.

The smell of this shampoo bar does not linger in your hair at all.

This bar has loads of bits in it. It contains fresh lemon peel, ordinary lemon peel, a lemon slice, popping candy, green olives… The lemon slice and lemon peel are very noticeable, and obviously they cannot dissolve and be used up. I find this little bits within the bar INCREDIBLY irritating!

This bar can become very difficult to lather up towards the end of the bar. This can mean going back and re-lathering up your hair multiple times to be able to wash it properly!

This bar will break into little pieces as it gets smaller. These little pieces are quite annoying to use up, fall onto the floor of the shower, get stuck in your hair, and look very messy! My cleaner actually threw a lot of little pieces of this shampoo bar away when she saw them in a tray in my bathroom because of thinking that they looked messy!

This shampoo bar leaves your hair feeling sort of stringy. The mix of ingredients in this shampoo bar make your hair both super squeaky and shiny, and also very stretchy. This sounds good in theory, but it actually just makes you notice your hair pulling on everything, it makes your hair much more difficult to brush through and I just really do not like how this bar makes my hair feel.

The scent of this bar can become quite sickly. It is a very sweet scent.

The residue that this bar leaves behind, in the tray or container you leave it in, is very difficult to wash out – it is a soft, sticky bar that dries very very hard!


Pros:

This bar overall smells divine! It smells a lot like lemon sherbet sweets. Really delicious smelling!

Although this bar making hair stretchy is very annoying, it is quite good for your hair, as it means your hair is breaking less. This means healthier hair when you use this bar.

The concept of this bar is very nice – it is supposed to make your hair look super luscious, thick, healthy and shiny.

The ingredients in this shampoo bar are mostly very natural. Washing your hair with such natural ingredients feels so good!

I love the colour of this shampoo bar. It is a nice, sunny, lemony yellow colour.

In general, this shampoo bar works quite well. Before the bar begins to run out, it does wash the hair very well and does make it squeaky clean, super shiny and much, much more resistant to breakage. So it does generally do what it is meant to do!

It comes without packaging, so buying this bar is helping the environment.

It is from Lush, a fantastic company!


Overall Conclusion:

Overall, I really, really, really like the concept of this shampoo bar. I love the smell of it, the look of it, the ingredients, how it is supposed to make my hair feel, the fact that it comes without packaging and is from Lush…

I can’t lie though. There are an awful lot of things about this bar that I just absolutely do not like. More than anything, I find this bar incredibly annoying.

I, for all of my reasons above, am going to rate this shampoo bar a 3/5*. With all the cons I said about this product, I’m sure you’d think I’d rate it less. Honestly, I absolutely love the smell, and I think it is mainly that which has made me rate this product a generous 3 star rating. I’m sorry if you love this shampoo bar – it is generally quite a popular one. It just really does not agree with me!

That’s it for me for today! Today I washed my hair with the ‘Jumping Juniper Shampoo Bar’, so that is the shampoo from Lush that I will be reviewing next. Don’t expect any shampoo reviews for around 3 months though – they do last an incredibly long time!

I am also in the process of using a lip balm from Lush, a spot treatment, a lotion, a shower jelly, a couple of temple balms, a hair styling cream, a massage bar and a fun bar! From experience, I think that the lotion, shower jelly and the massage bar might be the next ones that I will use up and review. I think out of these, the shower jelly and lotion will be soonest – probably the lotion will be soonest! The lotion is a really exciting one, so look forward to that – although, even the lotion I expect is going to take me some time to get through…

Basically, I probably won’t have any more Lush reviews for a while, unless I buy some new Lush products that I can use up a bit faster, but I’m trying to refrain from buying more until I use more of my stash up!

Anyway, sorry for the long conclusion… I will still write a few blog posts that aren’t Lush related – about my travels, a competition that I won, about Uni, and life in general!

– Storm 🙂

Leave a Reply

