Lush Blousey Shampoo Review

Hello!

Today I will be reviewing Lush’s ‘Blousey Shampoo’.

I always begin with the cons so that I can end on a high note.


Blousey Shampoo (100g)

Rating: 1/5*

Cons:

THIS SHAMPOO IS NOT BLOOMING MOISTURISING!!! I don’t know if it is because I wasn’t using enough of the stuff or what – the ingredients definitely would make the shampoo appear to be moisturing but for some reason, it just isn’t… at all! If anything, my hair felt less moisturised with this shampoo than it has using the ‘Seanik Shampoo Bar’, which I would definitely recommend over ‘Blousey’. I think it might be that you’re either not supposed to thoroughly rinse the shampoo out, which is something I can’t resist doing, or that you’re meant to use an awful lot of the shampoo at a time.

This shampoo looks disgusting. I know that it is an all natural product, but I’m just being honest here – it looks really gross. It is a sort of… light brown, gloopy, thick liquid.

You need to use a lot of this shampoo for it to even clean your hair. This is coming from someone with quite short, above the shoulder length hair, that is straight, very thin and fine. It just doesn’t spread very easily at all, and seems to sink in too quickly. This means that the product gets used up pretty quickly considering how expensive it is.

There is not much of a lather with this shampoo. I don’t actually have much of a problem with this, aside from the fact that it makes it more difficult to spread around. As long as I can feel the product, I dont really need a lather.

It is incredibly expensive… for the smallest sized pot (100g), this shampoo costs £9.75.

The smell of this product is very strong, which some people might find off-putting.

The smell of the product is also quite sweet in my opinion, which again, some might find off-putting.

The scent of this shampoo is definitely somewhat feminine, meaning most men might want to avoid giving it a go.

This shampoo is made from bananas primarily. This makes me feel kind of guilty using it, considering how many hungry people and even animals that there are in the world.


Pros:

This shampoo, to me, smells gorgeous. It smells like a mix between a general soap smell (like Dove or something), and a rosey smell. It is hard to describe, and at first I really was not keen on the scent, but I grew to really love it by the end of my tub.

This shampoo does feel moisturising when it is actually in your hair – it isn’t until you rinse it out that it feels less so.

This shampoo leaves your hair squeaky clean, literally! My hair feels very cleansed and beautifully fragranced after using ‘Blousey’.

This product is from Lush and is entirely vegan! Lush is a fantastic ethical brand in my opinion, and buying this shampoo would help their cause. 🙂



Overall Conclusion:

Overall, I think that this shampoo does not do what it says that it will do, that it is extremely overpriced, and that it is a waste of nutritious food that could be better put to use – especially considering that Lush is supposedly an ethical company!

The shampoo does smell lovely and does leave your hair feeling very clean, but those are the only positives I can honestly really say about it.

I would not really recommend this shampoo, it does work really well for some people though and the smell alone might be enough for someone to fall in love with it – I’d advice getting yourself a sample of it online if you are interested, rather than investing in a tub of the stuff.

Overall, I’d rate this product 1/5*, which is the lowest rating I have given a product yet! I feel bad doing so – I do really love Lush, and this product does smell really good. I just feel that this product is very wasteful.

– Storm

Leave a Reply

