Lush Seanik Shampoo Bar Review

Hello everybody! 🙂

I’m back again with another review! Today will be Lush’s ‘Seanik Shampoo Bar’.

I hope you enjoy! 🙂


Seanik Shampoo Bar

Rating: 5/5*

Cons:

There are pieces of seaweed in the shampoo bar. When these pieces come into contact with water, they become kind of gooey and gel-like in texture, which can look pretty gross.

If you don’t want to deal with using a shampoo bar that has begun falling apart, this might not be the best shampoo for you. As I neared the end of my bar (when I probably had around 20 washes or so left of it,) the middle of the bar got used up in my hair, leaving a doughnut shaped shampoo bar. This itself was difficult to work with, but then when that started breaking up, it just became even more difficult. Eventually I was left with about 5-10 tiny pieces of shampoo bar which I used up the final time I shampooed my hair with Seanik. Again, using a falling apart shampoo bar is pretty tricky to do, but I wanted to use it all up!

This shampoo bar does sort of smell like the sea, which although some people might like, it can get a bit much after a while. It has a very salty, sea-like, fresh, slightly floral smell to it.

Residue of this shampoo bar will absolutely cling for dear life to the bottom of whatever container or surface you choose to store it in/on. I rinsed out my square tin that I was keeping my shampoo bar in once I had used it all up, and even after thorough rinsing whilst rubbing the bottom of the tin, there is still some tiny pieces of shampoo bar and residue stuck to the bottom of it.

As soon as the center of the shampoo bar is gone, using the shampoo bar will cause your hair to become tangled and knotty, and the lather will not be anywhere near as light and fluffy. Sometimes you will even need to re-apply some of the shampoo bar to get a thick enough lather to feel like your hair has been thoroughly cleaned.

When I did finally rinse out my tin, there were still some small pieces of shampoo bar left, but they were so small that it seemed pointless to keep them. This means some product was wasted!

While using any small shampoo bar pieces in the shower, often pieces would fall onto the shower floor, which would be a bit of a pain and means that a lot of shampoo bar was wasted here.

If pieces do fall on the floor of the shower, and you want to salvage them, they will be very difficult to get a grip of and to pick up!


Pros:

This shampoo bar lathers up immensely! Just a few strokes on the hair and you will have enough lather to clean your hair thoroughly. What I would do is swipe the shampoo bar around the rim of my entire hair line, to make sure my roots had an even distribution of shampoo.

The colour! Seanik is a beautiful blue that looks brighter than any images you will see of it online. It is such a beautiful looking shampoo bar!

My hair always feels really soft after using this shampoo bar.

This shampoo bar is very clarifying.

I find the lather produced from shampoo bars to be much easier to rinse out that of the lather products by your more standard shampoo. This saves some time in the shower!

I always leave the shower feeling beachy and fresh after using this shampoo bar, as though I’ve just been to the beach for a swim in a clear blue sea.

This shampoo bar is so affordable for how far it goes. I have probably had this shampoo bar since January sometime, so that is at least 3 months that it has lasted me, and I almost exclusively have been using this shampoo bar for that duration. It only costs £5.95, £1-£2 a month for your shampoo is not bad!

The shampoo bar being in a solid format is incredibly useful. It is easy to take these with you in a tin if you would like to go on holiday etc.

Using this shampoo bar leaves your hair quite light, soft, voluminous, textured and fluffy (in a good way!)


Overall conclusion:

I think that this shampoo bar would be great to use in the summer – it really does feel more like a summertime shampoo to me, because of how beachy it makes your hair feel. It is a brilliant shampoo, and in my opinion it could be used regularly, although, as stated before, the beachy hair feeling can get a bit much sometimes. I especially feel like this shampoo bar would be great for hair that lacks texture and volume, or for anyone who loves summer, beaches or great hair!

Overall, I would rate Seanik a 5/5*, only just! I would not exclusively use this shampoo bar personally, because I start to feel like my hair has salty sea-like buildup or something after using only this bar for a long period of time! I think it is good to have a couple of different shampoos anyway, so that you can have a choice whenever you take a shower.

– Storm 🙂 

Leave a Reply

