Birthday goals.

So, it may have been a while back now, but I turned 22 last October. I mentioned this in another post, but I really wanted to expand on my reaction to this.

So, I was watching the clock as it struck midnight, and as soon as it did, I actually felt really, really, really upset. I was born at midnight, the midwife even allowed my mother to choose whether she wanted my birthday to be written as the 16th or the 17th. This means that the 17th October at midnight is quite literally when I am considered a year older. I felt like I had lost something that I could never get back, something incredibly valuable. There’s nothing like a birthday to slap you in the face with the realization that you have just spent a year of your life.

So, how did I respond to this feeling? I had to do SOMETHING to make me feel not so terrible, I really did feel quite devastated!

I decided to write a list of all the things that I would like to achieve within the next year, by time I turn 23 – and much more importantly, anything I could think of that I did not want to achieve within the next year – all the things that I would like to save for another year of my life. Through writing this list, I gave myself goals to achieve throughout the next year, and also a sense of youth. I realized how much I actually did not want to achieve during the next year, how much I wanted to save for another time in my life, which made me feel much younger :)!

Doing something as simple as that on my birthday altered my state of mind from being upset to being very happy with where I am in my life, motivated for the following  year and very excited for the future :).

I have never been one for making new years resolutions, and I really feel as though this way of doing things is much more relevant to the individual. Creating goals by personal birthdays makes much more sense to me!

How I did this was by pulling out a notebook, writing down several sub-headings that I’m working on in my life, such as ‘Money’ and ‘Education’, and writing all the things under those sub-headings that I’d be happy to achieve within the next year. I also wrote down a couple of goals under each sub-heading that I would like to save to achieve a different year, to give me something to look forward to in the future!

I can honestly say that I have never felt more content with where I am in my life – with my age, my position… Somehow, everything just feels “right” now. I used to feel like I was almost in some sort of a race or competition in every aspect of my life – and that I was losing! Now I feel like everything is happening and will happen exactly when it should. It isn’t that I haven’t had goals before, I’ve had goals for my life since a few years ago. I’ve just never felt content with my position in the present moment until doing this. I want more for my life – I still have goals I’d like to achieve, but I also feel very, very content in the moment, and with just living the course of my life.

– Storm 🙂

Leave a Reply

